How do you handle import duties when drop-shopping?

Highlighted
4 0 0

I have a successful store for my own self-branded products, but I'm new to drop-shipping. Using Oberlo, I've just added some products to my store, which sells only in the US and Canada. (My retail prices on these products range from $10 to about $120. I sell gear for kayaking & canoeing, by the way.) Most will ship from China via e-Packet. Everything is technically subject to import duties, but I'm under the impression that duties are rarely changed on small consumer products in practice. (That's been my experience when ordering products that ship from China on Amazon.)

1. Is it true that duties are rarely charged on small items that dropship from China to US/Canada?
2. Are duties sometimes imposed on such products?
3. How to you inform your customers that duties WILL or MIGHT BE charged? What wording do you use? I don't want them to be surprised when the postman tells them they owe duties, but I don't want the prospect of additional charges to scare them off if those charges are rarely imposed.
4. If you're using Oberlo and dropshipping, I'd like to look at your store. Please provide a link. (I presume that my focus on paddlesports isn't going to compete directly with your store.)

Many thanks, all.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
258 8 25

Hi @Robert_Holtzman! Gabby here from the Community Engagement team at Spocket.

I'm not really a dropshipper but I'd like to give you some of my insights regarding your concern. First off, if you don't want to worry about adding the amount to pay for duties, you can try using apps like Spocket - everything is automated in terms of order fulfillment. The supplier calculates duties as well as taxes for you when your customer makes a purchase. You can find out more about this with this video: Automated Order Processing. To answer your questions though: