Outsourcing Product Research

Tourist
3 0 0
I'm considering hiring someone to do product research for (dropshipping) and have a glaring question, any help I can get is appreciated because I'm new to this. I'm curious to know if a person is great at locoating products to dropship and are good at creating stores and marketing for Shopify or Amazon and so on, why wouldn't they just have their own store and work on that instead of helping someone else become sucessful, especially in these other countries where they only charge 6 dollars an hour?

Thanks Y'all
0 Likes
Shopify Partner
236 59 70

Howdy @NicoletteTaylor, what a great question!

If a person is truly good at picking products, creating stores, and marketing them – why are they selling us their services instead of running their own successful store?

I believe folks normally do what they feel is best for themselves – which leaves room for many reasons why a person who could be a great merchant chooses instead to be a great expert-for-hire.

• Maybe they do own and run a successful dropship store or have recently sold one, and by also selling you their "services" are simply practicing the art of selling their byproducts - which are the knowledge and data they've gained from being a great merchant.
  • Maybe they truly enjoy interacting with and helping other merchants every day. Maybe they find running dropship stores lonely or unfulfilling.
  • Maybe they have the expertise but they lack leadership skills and would function better as a member of your team.
  • Maybe they lack the capital to properly or legally set up a dropship business in their country.
  • Maybe they are good at picking products but not at setting up stores and/or marketing them.