Quantity Discounts - NOT USING VARIANTS!

Highlighted
Shopify Partner
21 0 29

Does anyone else use Shipwire for fulfilment and wish they could use a real quantity discount system for their products?

I've been using Shopify since 2008 and it has become quite apparent that no one at Shopify cares that they are doing an incredibly lame job in this department. If this was my company I'd be totally ashamed.

I know what they will tell you "Use variants", you can't eff-in use variants as a workaround for quantity discount when using a fulfilment service, you just can't it's a nightmare with logistics having to bundle all your products up into possible sellable quantities and then give each bundle its own individual SKU number.

SHOPIFY QUANTITY DISCOUNT = FAIL

28 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
178 0 36

Hi Matthew,

I think you're right. Quantity discounts are something that needs to be improved in Shopify. The beta for Shopify 2 was just released. This new back-end was built to allow us to roll out features like quantity discounts better. I know discounts are something we are putting a lot of effort into right now.

In the meantime, maybe an app like Product Discount might help you out: http://apps.shopify.com/product-discount

1 Like
Shopify Partner
21 0 29

Hi Mike,

I understand that the app you pointed out will do the trick in a 'tack on' round about way but I find myself thinking I already pay a premium for Shopify, stuff like this shouldn't be another added on monthly fee especially when it's standard in many other e-commerce platforms.

How it should be:

In each product page in the Shopify 2 admin there should be a button like there is for 'Add Variants' but it should say something like 'Add Multi Purchase Discounts' then when clicked it opens a Lightbox area asking for the following:

Quantity: If [2] or more of this SKU are added to cart.

Discount the total of these {2} items by [20] < % or $ >

(Save) (Cancel)