mark up

4 0 0

I just started up my dropshipping store, relatively new at this, for most products, what is a good markup amount to stay competitive but make money?

0 Likes
Trailblazer
151 8 31

I'm new at it too.  Still getting my store prepared to go public, but almost done and have a sizable products catalog.  It depends on the product(s).  I've looked up a ton of products on Amazon and ebay, and I've heard that suppliers are also using those sites to sell their inventory, so perhaps trying to be competitive with those prices is not wise in some cases.  For instance, if a supplier's product costs a vendor $4 through Shopify apps / dropshipping suppliers, and the same product is being sold for approximately $4 or less via ebay / Amazon, then try not to do a tiny markup simply to be competitive with those sites' lowest prices.  That's what I'm aiming at.  It's best to be competitive with local / regional retailers that are not online stores only.  For example, Walmart or Dunham's sports, or even a popular mall store.  It's not easy to discover products that allow a large percentage margin in the Shopify dropshipping suppliers' apps at times, but it is worth it in lieu of the marketplace price fluctuations and inherent competition with online selling.

So, for another example:

Oberlo supplier sells PRODUCT A at 8.74 per 1 item to the Shopify store owner
PRODUCT A is set at a default retail price of 12.99 per 1 item
Shipping costs about $3
I suggest increasing the price to greater than 12.99, yet below other prices seen for the same product online or in a non-virtual store
If that's not feasible, then set it higher and see if it sells.  But remember, selling 5 of a product at $50 is $250 gross profit, whereas 20 at $20 is $400 gross profit...so a smaller margin isn't exactly a worse profit scenario...depending on the supplier's listing price.

0 Likes
Community Manager
Community Manager
2117 128 271

Hi @crossflix,

Nick here from Shopify.