FROM CACHE - en_header

Google Search Console - Url Inspection error

JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

Hi all, need some help with my Google Search console.

Seems like all is went well installing the text file in Shopify domains (under DNS) and adding a property to GSC + sitemap.

But when is choose >> Url Inspection << , is shows an indexing error and and seems like the URL is incomplete? Although the rest seems to work...

 

Anyone any thoughts on this?

Thanks a million

 

 

X Error indexing

Screenshot 2021-08-23 at 17.44.43.png

√ Url available on google

image.png

√ I can read data 

Screenshot 2021-08-23 at 17.54.35.png

 

 

Replies 14 (14)
drakedev
Shopify Partner
622 133 186

Can you inspect HTTPS version of your website?

https://jophermans.com/

The HTTP version is not present in the sitemap.

If my answer was helpful click Like to say thanks
If the problem is solved remember to click Accept Solution
Shopify/Shopify Plus custom development: You can hire me for simple and/or complex tasks.
JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

Thanks for checking in @drakedev , 

I don't know what to look for Drake. Can you guide me through this?

I assume it has to do with the domain section? 

 

Screenshot 2021-08-23 at 22.15.23.png

drakedev
Shopify Partner
622 133 186

I was referring to the Google Search Console screenshot you posted. You inspected the http version, but you should inspect https to see if there are any errors.

2021-08-24 03_29_11-Re_ Google Search Console - Url Inspection error - Shopify Community.png

If my answer was helpful click Like to say thanks
If the problem is solved remember to click Accept Solution
Shopify/Shopify Plus custom development: You can hire me for simple and/or complex tasks.
JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

Hi @drakedev ,

I think I made a mess as I added two properties (photo).

- URL from the second property is 'on google' and seems accepted >> https://jophermans.com/ << but is not the domain property

- when I inspect the URL from the 'jophermans.com' property it gives an error

- should I delete the first property?

 

Screenshot 2021-08-23 at 22.52.26.png

drakedev
Shopify Partner
622 133 186

If you have problems you can even delete both and perform a new ownership validation. 

I suggest you to perform the validation at domain level.

Once validate you just need to submit the sitemap manually again, that in your case is: https://jophermans.com/sitemap.xml

Also remember to reconnect Google Search Console into your Google Analytics account, so that you can see some statistic of Google Search Console also in Google Analytics

If my answer was helpful click Like to say thanks
If the problem is solved remember to click Accept Solution
Shopify/Shopify Plus custom development: You can hire me for simple and/or complex tasks.
JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

Deleted both properties, added a new property via the 'URL prefix' (not via 'Domain as my domain is hosted by Shopify). Is that the right choice?

  • added the sitemap again
  • didn't change anything in the Shopify code for 'verifying ownership'
  • requested indexing
  • the 'Live Test' shows all green

Can you check if everything looks good @drakedev  ?

Thanks mate

 

Url Inspection (below)

Screenshot 2021-08-24 at 11.19.53.png

Screenshot 2021-08-24 at 11.26.53.png

Live Test (below)  

Screenshot 2021-08-24 at 11.19.02.png

drakedev
Shopify Partner
622 133 186

Looking at the screenshots it seems ok

If my answer was helpful click Like to say thanks
If the problem is solved remember to click Accept Solution
Shopify/Shopify Plus custom development: You can hire me for simple and/or complex tasks.
JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

I just changed a sentence in my previous post...curious if I did this correctly:

>> Deleted both properties, added a new property via the 'URL prefix' (not via 'Domain as my domain is hosted by Shopify). Is that the right choice? <<

 

drakedev
Shopify Partner
622 133 186

Deleted both properties, added a new property via the 'URL prefix' (not via 'Domain as my domain is hosted by Shopify). Is that the right choice?

You could verify the Google Search property via domain also if it hosted on Shopify. You just need to add a custom TXT Record to the DNS settings under Online Store > Domains

Add a TXT record with name @ and in the TXT Value field add the custom code provided by Google Search Console verification

If my answer was helpful click Like to say thanks
If the problem is solved remember to click Accept Solution
Shopify/Shopify Plus custom development: You can hire me for simple and/or complex tasks.
JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

Can you explain what the added value is to add the GSC verification via 'domain'?

Thanks for sticking with me @drakedev !

I guess on one point the 'URL inspection' should say >> URL is available on Google.... am I right?

drakedev
Shopify Partner
622 133 186

A domain verification automatically include all subdomains like www, etc. and track both http and https versions of the URL (actually you shouldn't have any http, but better to be sure).

At the end there's is not much difference but I always prefer to verify the domain when possible.


@JHP_photo wrote:

I guess on one point the 'URL inspection' should say >> URL is available on Google.... am I right?


Yes, correct. 

 

If my answer was helpful click Like to say thanks
If the problem is solved remember to click Accept Solution
Shopify/Shopify Plus custom development: You can hire me for simple and/or complex tasks.
JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

Thank you @drakedev , I added the domain property as well.

I'll keep an eye on the 'URL inspection' to see if eventually the url comes available on Google. If that doesn't happen in a few days time, I'll get back to you with a new report! 🙂

Thanks for now!

drakedev
Shopify Partner
622 133 186

Ok, let me know if you have more questions.

If my answer was helpful click Like to say thanks
If the problem is solved remember to click Accept Solution
Shopify/Shopify Plus custom development: You can hire me for simple and/or complex tasks.
JHP_photo
Pathfinder
113 0 25

Hi @drakedev and @Niki_K , 

Well, I'm back...I can't get my website crawled/indexed via Google Search Console.

To be honest, I have no idea what I'm doing (wrong) in Google Search Console. Do you have an idea how to fix this? I have been working on adding meta data on my website, none of the changes show up in Google yet.

  • 'Test Live Url' green for both properties
  • 'URL inspection' fails for both properties
  • sitemap.xml added to both properties 
  • only one property shows performance (info below)
  • I 'requested indexing' for both pages a while ago

www.jophermans.com 

Property 1 jophermans.com

Screenshot 2021-08-30 at 13.54.19.png

Screenshot 2021-08-30 at 13.54.59.png

Screenshot 2021-08-30 at 13.57.14.png

Property 2 https://www.jophermans.com

Screenshot 2021-08-30 at 13.59.05.png

Screenshot 2021-08-30 at 13.59.33.png

Screenshot 2021-08-30 at 14.00.08.png