SEO, AdWords, affiliates, advertising, and promotions
I would really appresiate if you would share the following information. Just starting my e-coomerce site, need some info.
Could you please share:
-how many visitors give you one conversion(approximately)?
- what marketing channel do you use to get visitors?
-how much do you spend on marketing?(weekly)
Please mention your product as well.
Your asking questions where there will be allot of different answers. Which depends on niche, website, authority, interest, price, quality, service and so on. You can go as far as saying what works for one jeweler seller, will not work for another.
It is to be expected to get a sale when you get 50 to 100 quality visitors, if they are visitors collected from the correct area. Meaning, that the interest must be to buy the product and that the aqcuisition is based on the ad message being the same as the landing page. Anybody can buy traffic, but if the quality is poor, than you can get 10000 visitors and zero sales.
Google advertising and Facebook are great, but some might like the influence effect on instagram. I recommend you look at all advertising models and see what works for you. The best way is to test it out, before you do that, study up on the advertising platform. Not because you setup the ads means it is effective. For example if you just setup a Google Shopping ad, you might see that you get sales but at a high cost, it requires allot of effort and advanced setup to make it profitable.
How much you spend is something you need to determine yourself, starting with a £30 daily budget is a good start to ensure you have enough flexibility to setup the ads, than grow when you can.
I recommend you do some market research, check what your competitors are doing. etc...
Emmanuel makes many good points, I especially agree with the "quality visitors" part. That's key, 100 visitors from "anywhere" does not equal 100 visitors who are looking for items your product, can afford your product, and have previously purchased similar items.
But to give you a very general idea, in my experience working with brands in a wide variety of industries when one is starting out the conversion rate is usually very low. Like under 1%. So you could get to 200, 300, maybe even 1000 visitors before one buys. Unfortunately it's not uncommon to see even higher numbers - in fact just today someone posted in this forum a number close to 3,000 with not a single sale!
Once you're rolling and have some experience and have identified your core audience, a "good" conversion rate is 2 to 3 %. Meaning for every 100 visitors you'll get 2 or 3 sales. I say "good" because 3% isn't great of course, but it's certainly better than .003%.
And that number factors in all channels. We usually find one or two channels will out perform all the others combined. Generally it's email promotions that crush it, we consistently see 10% or better conversion rates from email.
My advice to you for today is this:
1. if you have had some sales, identify what those people have in common. Are they single moms in a certain age range? Are they retired grandparents? Find out who your audience is and don't waste any money or time marketing to a group that doesn't fit that profile in this early phase.
2. Start building your list. Offer incentives to get peoples email addresses and then regularly market to them, they are far more valuable than cold outreach via advertising.
Hope this helps!
Google ads are great if you do them right. What have you tried so far?
Off topic but since so many replies...
What is the best shipping method for orders from China?
And do customers rect negatively when they have to wait 15-20 days to get order?
The typical site will have an average conversion rate of 1-2%. So, 1-2 conversion for every 100 visitors. However, for sites just getting started, this can be lower (.5%) and for established brands this can be much higher (6-8%).
The source of the traffic also plays a big part in conversion. If you have an established email list sending to existing or interested customers, conversion rates will be higher than traffic coming from paid ads.
If you are just getting started, I would recommend getting an email list going - Mailchimp is fairly intuitive and had a free option. Start reaching out to friends and family to see if they will join the list. Then, start sending out emails about your products on a regular basis. While you are at it ask your F&F to like you FB page to get that established as well.
Paid ads are going to be very expensive and you are going to have a hard time converting this traffic right away. So, I would suggest adding an email pop-up to your site to capture these new visitors so you can communicate with them at later date if they do not purchase right away (which most won’t).
And to answer your question about orderding from China to ship to customers and they have to wait 2-3 weeks to get their order - unless it is a product they cannot get anywhere else, that seems like a long time to wait in the world of two day shipping.
Hope this helps.
but where do I get so many emails if I just started?
A really useful guide on your expected ecommerce conversion rate is this conversion rate calculator provided by Shopify.
Across all industries it seems that 1.4-1.6‰ is a solid average. As mentioned previously the conversion rate from different sources will vary greatly, usually depending on which stage of the customer journey is being supported.
To improve your conversion rate you should focus on CRO tactics. This link highlights some of the low hanging fruit. Shopify also provides some good hints in the previous link I shared to the calculator.
You asked about which marketing channels to use. Of course it depends on so many things, but the following should definitely be included:
In terms of spend on advertising there is a lot of benchmarking available. Shopify itself suggests you should consider spending between 10-30% of topline revenue on ads.
From ads, you should be expecting around 5x Return on Ad Spend (ROAS). This means that for every $1 you spend on ads you could expect $5 of attributable revenue. Some hints here on calculating ROAS.
If you are aiming for 10% of total revenue spent on ads then you should be aiming for a 10x Marketing Efficiency Ratio (MER). This figure is total revenue (attributable and non-attributable) divided by total ad spend.
Our Shopify app helps you manage all of this across multiple ad channels. We help you figure out those high level metrics such as ROAS and MER. In addition we surface daily opportunities to improve ad spend performance.
I hope that helps.
As a marketing or promotional channel, affiliate marketing can be effective in generating leads and driving sales. Regardless of where your target audience is in the customer journey, affiliate marketing serves as a full-funnel strategy that's worthy of adoption.
We're excited to announce improvements to the threaded messaging experience in our communi...By TyW May 31, 2023
Thank you to everyone who participated in our AMA with Klaviyo. It was great to see so man...By Jacqui May 30, 2023
Photo by Marco Verch Sales channels on Shopify are various platforms where you can sell...By Ollie May 25, 2023