Solved

What are the best methods for enhancing Shopify SEO?

demib
Shopify Partner
132 12 62

I am fairly new to Shopify and this is my first post to this great community. But I have been working since 1996 with SEO and web development and as some of my clients wanted to move to Shopify I spend the last couple of months getting into all the details of this platform. 

As my primary focus is still SEO, performance, UX, conversions and sales I have been trying to figure out how to utilize Shopify to create the best results. 

Many aspects of SEO is off course not directly dependent on the platform - such as SEO-strategies, keyword research, copy writing, user engagement optimization and link building. It's more about the technical limitations options - where are the weak (SEO) spots of the platform, how can they be improved and what (more or less cray creative) options can me utilized to gain better results. 

I think I have a pretty good overview of the most important aspects of technical SEO on Shopify - from indexing (and thanks for that robots.txt update!), navigation, dealing with Duplicate Content, many aspects of speed optimization, Core Web Vitals, Schema, AMP and how Metafields (still waiting for them to be added to all page types though) and the new Sections Everywhere (thanks for that too!) can be used in great ways. 

But, I am always looking for good ideas - and maybe I missed something.

And with all you great people here I thought I would just ask you all: What are your greatest tips for improving SEO on Shopify sites (that are specific for Shopify)?

I am interested in both general structure tips (as said, I could have missed something) and more advanced and creative solutions. My team and I are also in the early stages on developing some apps that should fill the gap in areas where I believe SEO could be stronger (or easier) on Shopify. So if you have ideas that requires such developments I would love to here about that too. No limits 🙂