Do you need to handle taxes for your UK-registered dropshipping business?

AMandCOLTD
Visitor
1 0 0

Hi,

I am starting my shop, dropshipping from China to the USA using my registered LTD in the UK.

My questions are the following: 

• Do I have to charge selling taxes? if yes how to do it?
  • Should I pay the selling taxes or the customer does?
  • Do I have other taxes I need to consider? 

@Victor Please help, many referred me to you 😳

Reply 1 (1)

Victor
Shopify Staff
2422 225 517

Hi @AMandCOLTD,

Thank you for getting in touch. Please be aware that I am not a tax expert, nor can I or other Shopify employees inform you of what your tax obligations are. It is your responsibility as a business owner to understand your own tax liabilities and we would always recommend speaking with a tax professional if you are unsure about when and what to charge in terms of VAT, and how to remit sales tax to the relevant tax authorities. I am happy to give you some general advice below but I would also encourage you to do your own research.