FROM CACHE - en_header

16 block limit is too restrictive (Online Store 2.0)

Solved
maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

Currently in the process of updating to online store 2.0 and am shocked to see the block limit has been drastically reduced from 250 to 16. My store has a custom section which visually displays the ingredients of our product with a link to a collection for that product. Combined, we have over 70 ingredients for our teas with approximately 70 blocks in this section (each block came pre-built with the tea & link to collection).

When I built this section we saw up to 60% increase in conversion rates, and our customers found it to be extremely helpful. With the new limit we can no longer have this section (which prohibits us from ever upgrading). Is it possible to restore this limit, or at least allow a much higher ceiling? 

If not, could I propose adding a new meta option similar to an excel table. Where you can define multiple data types per row (say a column for text, a column for images, and a column for links). This would be visual, with the ability to upload the file directly into it. This meta field would have a preset amount of columns that are first described when the meta is built, but an "unlimited" amount of rows. The closest thing to that is the JSON meta, which is a poor option for managing images. I'm also the only person in my office that understands JSON – so that's a major downside.

 

Accepted Solution (1)

Accepted Solutions
maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

This is an accepted solution.

So by stroke of luck, I've discovered a new app that might just cover what we need, without us having to spend $3k-$5k on a custom app.

Airfields, an app that allows you to define meta fields, and then create them within their respective Shopify editors, allows you to create fully custom metafields for products, collections, pages, blogs, and more. The major thing here is they have something called a repeater, which allows us to create groups of multiple values within one metafield. They even include example theme code on how to use said repeater when defined.

https://www.airfields.io/

https://apps.shopify.com/airfields

 

@biron With this app, you could create a repeater for pages with an image field, title field, and URL, and craft what you need without the blocks. 

View solution in original post

Replies 47 (47)
axis80
Shopify Expert
20 1 4

I'm trying to understand this, but I'm not sure what you mean by blocks in this context.  Are you talking about the maximum number of metafields that can be associated with each product?

Whatever it is, it sounds like you might be able to replicate the same functionality using tags, with a different tag for each ingredient?

maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

Previously the block limit with legacy Shopify was 250 per section. With 2.0 this has been reduced to 16. We used these blocks in one of our sections to dynamically load a photo, a blurb, and a link to a collection of items with the same ingredient for each of our products. 

The key challenge we had was how to load in ingredients for our large catalog of products with over a combined 70 ingredients. We needed something with an image picker, a way to link to a collection, and a text field about the ingredient. Products have a varying count of ingredients. Some have 2 ingredients, others could have 6.

Something like this is too complex for tags or meta fields, this is why we used blocks. The theme code would search the blocks and find blocks where the title of the ingredient was equal to an ingredient within the product. It would then render that into the section complete with its unique photo, link, and blurb.

My request was to restore the previous block limit or at least increase it to a more substantial level.

OR add a new meta field that is essentially the JSON meta field, but visual. Something that allows Shopify users to pre-define columns (say you define an image column and text column) and then add in as many rows per product as they need. In the front-end this is easy, visual, and any Shopify user can use it without the help of someone that knows JSON. In the back-end the end result is the same JSON that's currently available as a metafield.

axis80
Shopify Expert
20 1 4

I get most of what you're saying but the part I'm confused about is what you mean by the word "block".  How are you inserting these blocks?  Are they snippets that you include with the Liquid {% include %} directive?  Or something else?

I'd love to see this in action, as it sounds like a really cool thing to present to your users.  If you feel like sharing, PM me the store URL.  No worries if you would rather not, though.

maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

Shopify blocks: https://shopify.dev/api/liquid/objects/block

Previously these were limited to 250 per section. They've since been reduced to 16 per section on all themes using Shopify 2.0

You can view these in action by visiting our wellness teas and scrolling down to "This tea's ingredients include...": https://fullleafteacompany.com/collections/wellness-blends/health-benefit_sleep-stress-relief

Each ingredient is a block within our ingredients sectionEach ingredient is a block within our ingredients section

Peter__73
Shopify Partner
17 1 8

this is so stupid !!!

maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

There's been no communication from Shopify on why this was drastically changed or if this will be re-adjusted in the future. Rather upsetting.😕

Daniel_Whitehe2
New Member
2 0 8

Shopify, what the hell...

biron
Tourist
6 0 19

I've been moving one of my stores to online store 2.0 but this has become a complete deal breaker for me. I used to use sections where I'd frequently have more than 16 blocks in them at a time. With this gone, I have no idea how I can achieve what I need to.

16 is way too restrictive and I can't see any reason for the change?

maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

It's a dealbreaker for our store too. Blocks are a component of one of the most essential sections in our store. Super frustrating. I've contacted Shopify+ Support and they've yet to provide a response other than "we'll take a look at it" 😕

Ecommpremium
Shopify Partner
432 36 81

Yes,

this is so confusing!

Regards

Ahsan Ali

ecommpremium

- Did we solve your issue? Like & Mark As Solution to help the community
- SKYPE: ahsanaliawan
- 300+ Video Tutorials
-Upwork
DigitalDepth
Tourist
3 0 5

This is very frustating for me too, did you have any other answer yet or did you manage to fix this in any other way?

Ecommpremium
Shopify Partner
432 36 81

Shopify dont allow this for more info simply find us at Youtube

Capture.JPG

- Did we solve your issue? Like & Mark As Solution to help the community
- SKYPE: ahsanaliawan
- 300+ Video Tutorials
-Upwork
maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

We're looking into hiring an app developer for our use case. Unfortunately, that is likely too cost-prohibitive for many other businesses. Shopify is still AFK on the matter.

maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

I received a response from Shopify, basically "we're not changing this, and you can either use our meta fields or hardcode your data", we used blocks because we had a complex solution, and both of these options are either too basic or too time-consuming. Thanks Shopify.

 

Chrissy here with the Plus Support Specialist Team, thanks for connecting with us today.

I understand you're looking for more information on the section blocks and the limit of 16 for Online Store 2.0. Thanks for the information and context on why this change is important to your business and workflow.
I've looped in our front end developers to gain more insight for you regarding your inquiry. In terms of increasing this limit, that is not a feature available at this time and cannot be changed. I advised our team of the situation of the ingredients listed in the sections, and a work around they recommend is using metafields to customize the product as there is no limit this way.

Alternatively, you can hardcode all of their block data into sections or snippets and then bring them in that way— keep in mind that you'll just need to go into the theme files whenever you want to make changes instead of using the theme editor.

Using metafields is our front end developers most recommended workaround in this case.

I've gone ahead and made note of your feedback and will forward this to our developers to consider adding that functionality in a future update. Our priority is making sure Shopify is as user-friendly as possible and we're always looking for better ways to improve the systems, we appreciate your input.

This should get you on the right track for now. Feel free to reply to this email if you have further questions and we will be happy to help.

Ecommpremium
Shopify Partner
432 36 81

hmmm! so basically thats it! @maxrfinch 

- Did we solve your issue? Like & Mark As Solution to help the community
- SKYPE: ahsanaliawan
- 300+ Video Tutorials
-Upwork
biron
Tourist
6 0 19

For me, I'm not using using this section on a product page, so metafields can't work.

I'm basically building a little image gallery which outputs a carousel of images. This carousel can be on any page and sometimes I need more than 16 images in this carousel.
I don't want to add some bloated app to do this as my implementation of a section works perfectly. It being restricted to just 16 items just makes no sense to me though. Why can't it have 20 or 30 or even 250 like it used to be? Why was this change made?

 

maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

This is an accepted solution.

So by stroke of luck, I've discovered a new app that might just cover what we need, without us having to spend $3k-$5k on a custom app.

Airfields, an app that allows you to define meta fields, and then create them within their respective Shopify editors, allows you to create fully custom metafields for products, collections, pages, blogs, and more. The major thing here is they have something called a repeater, which allows us to create groups of multiple values within one metafield. They even include example theme code on how to use said repeater when defined.

https://www.airfields.io/

https://apps.shopify.com/airfields

 

@biron With this app, you could create a repeater for pages with an image field, title field, and URL, and craft what you need without the blocks. 

DigitalDepth
Tourist
3 0 5

@maxrfinch that's really nice you found a possible solution. Can you maybe update me if it has worked with your case? I would appreciate that, since my client would like to have more than 16 images in their showcase. I don't want to immediately show them the app without knowing if it will work for sure.

maxrfinch
Excursionist
25 1 35

It works. Definitely needed to make changes to my code, especially with displaying image data and lazy loading, as the image meta isn't like the image object you get in liquid, it's simply the main URL with versioning. 

That being said, it's still very much possible to create an image carousel using this app. You would use a repeater for defining the meta, then edit each meta for the pages your client wants this tool. On the backend side, you get a nice visual tool for uploading images, adjusting text, etc. You have the ability to create as many objects as you want in the repeater meta. On the liquid side, it creates an object with key:value pairs that you can work with. They have some documentation you can follow.