What's So Great About 2.0?

Leatherpunk
Shopify Partner
26 0 2

I'm not a developer, just a store owner. I have done a lot of reading , absorbing as much as I can comprehend about os2.0. So far, all I can determine is that this is apparently some kind of blessing for developers and have found very little info about 'what's in it for me?'.

I started to set up the theme, same theme I currently have, just the 2.0 version, and right away noticed a few hurdles and limitations along with some potential upsides. I won't go into those details, as it's not important in the scope of what I'm trying to convey. But it seems to me like switching to 2.0 I'm simply trading one set of problems, for a different set of problems.

As a store owner, I haven't been faced with too many instances at this point where I'm saying, "gosh, If only I could do (this)" . I do have the goal of getting my store load speed up, implementing lazy load, inline critical css, but it seems like none of that will be hindered staying on a traditional theme.  Any thoughts?

Reply 1 (1)

Leatherpunk
Shopify Partner
26 0 2

For posterity sake, I guess I'll reply to my own thread with the answer. My question would've been a good opportunity for Shopify to chime in and plug the benefits of upgrading to 2.0 theme. Since several months have went by, lots of views to my question and not one answer, it appears that they've missed their chance... I'll do the honors.

So to be clear, if you're an older store owner and haven't proactively switched to a 2.0 theme, then you're still on a Legacy theme. I have switched to 2.0 as of a couple weeks ago. Most legacy themes have a 2.0 version, so all you have to do is go back into the theme store and browse themes, find your theme and you can upgrade to it for free, meaning, you're not purchasing a new theme.