Add third background color Dawn Theme

Solved

Add third background color Dawn Theme

jonglaj
Tourist
6 2 0

Hey everybody, I am new to Shopify Programming and I am confused about the structure. 

I want to add a third background color for the Dawn Theme, so it can be used in the announcement bar.

I figured so far that variables of the theme are stored in theme.liquid  

I added the selection of a new color to settings_schema.json 

{
"type": "color",
"id": "colors_background_3",
"default": "#F3F3F3",
"label": "t:settings_schema.colors.settings.colors_background_3.label"
},
{
"id": "gradient_background_3",
"type": "color_background",
"label": "t:settings_schema.colors.settings.gradient_background_3.label"
}

to announcement-bar.liquid I added: 

{
"value": "background-3",
"label": "t:sections.announcement-bar.blocks.announcement.settings.color_scheme.options__3.label"
}

This works so far. Now to the implementation in the FE, I think I am supposed to change base.css  but I can not wrap my head around where I need to change it. Could someone give me a hint?

Accepted Solution (1)
jonglaj
Tourist
6 2 0

This is an accepted solution.

I figured the solution - it is pretty simple

right on top of the base.css , I needed to add following passage. 

.color-background-3 {
--color-background: var(--color-base-background-3);
--gradient-background: var(--gradient-base-background-3);
}

View solution in original post

Replies 11 (11)

oscprofessional
Shopify Partner
15950 2385 3094

Hi @jonglaj ,

Which background color you want for announcement bar ? 

share the color also share the store link so i can give you the solution.