How to handle customer chargeback after order dispatch?

How to handle customer chargeback after order dispatch?

ozans
Visitor
1 0 0

Hello,

I am new to shopify so please forgive me for my ignorance.
My wife has opened a store through shopify and she had her first sale.
However the customer failed to enter the tracking number on the provided shipping site, jumped into the conclusion that the shop is a scam and immediately told us to cancel the order.
She also told us that she is calling the bank for a chargeback.

Are we protected in any shape or form? We sent an expensive product with all details of shipment and everything. We tried to support her in every way.
What would happen if her chargeback goes through and she doesn't return the item - or not pick it up? Would our shopify balance be drawn out of the funds? That would mean we lose our expensive product and lose money in the process...

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Replies 2 (2)

Beacon-Jason
Shopify Partner
284 17 62

Hi @ozans Jason here with Beacon-fraud prevention app.

Sorry to hear about your chargeback experience. It's never easy to deal with chargebacks for new merchants and this questions get brought up quite often, so you are not alone! 

First of all, might I suggest you to always make tracking easy for your customers. Don't tell them to go to a site an enter a number. Instead, provide a direct link with the tracking number so that all it takes is a simple click and track. There are some other apps as well that will email the tracking update directly or even show the tracking information on your website directly. Simply, make it super easy for them to track their order.