Multiship and Issues with shipping costs not calculating

sweetmaker
2 0 0

I recently went over my shop's cart and discovered an issue with Multiship and I was wondering if anyone had any insight on fixes. I'm relatively new to using Shopify.

One of the issues found happens if a customer leaves the multiple addresses section to add another item to the cart. If the customer doesn't hit multiple addresses again in the cart and instead hits checkout, it will allow them to check out with only 1 shipping charge. The items themselves will show the different addresses for each item in the description of the item, but the shipping charges aren't included. There were a few orders last year around Christmas that this affected and I want to keep it from happening again this year.

I'm also trying to figure out a way to add gift notes to each order and mark the separate orders as gifts. Right now, only one gift notes option appears at the start of the process.

Anyone know any fixes? Or other apps to use?

Thanks for the help.

0 Likes
Tim_Gist
Excursionist
54 0 4

Hi @sweetmaker ,

Tim here from Gist Apps, makers of both Multiship and Giftship.

First, I might recommend using Giftship instead of Multiship, as it has the multiple shipping address tool, plus much more, including a gift message tool that allows for the capturing of a message per shipping address.

In terms of the gap that you have found in the multiple shipping address checkout flow, this is common. When the multiple shipping address is triggered, and the customer then begins inputting data - exiting this process and then bypassing it to go straight to the checkout will cause an issue. Patching this gap will ensure that it works perfectly every time.

Here are some common issues: https://docs.giftship.app/article/orders-are-not-splitting-for-multiple-shipping-address-orders/

And here is some information on gift messages, both how to set them up, and how to automate the printing of them!