Product/package weights and shipping calculation

Rowantree
Visitor
3 0 1

Hello! I am new to shopify and am still building my first store. I am struggling to try and find the answer to this simple question so I thought that I would reach out and ask. 

Maybe I am over thinking this as I tend to do, but let me explain. At first I was just putting my product into a box with the packing material and then adding that weight to the "product weight" section on the product page for each item. But then as I was browsing in settings I ran across the packaging section with options to add different boxes, dimensions and weights. That sections seems to make it clear that it is just asking for the dimensions and weight of the box or package itself empty without the product inside. So then am I adding the wrong weight to my products? Should the product weight JUST be the product itself? 

At checkout when calculating shipping does the shop automatically combine the weight of the product with the weight of the selected package? And how do I set different packages for different products? 

Thanks for any help! 

Replies 3 (3)

Oliver
Shopify Staff (Retired)
429 48 106

Hi, @Rowantree !

Great question. You'll want to use only the product's weight when adding weights on your products and then the weight for your box/package in your shipping settings. The system will automatically calculate the weight of the product(s) plus the default packages weight when calculating your shipping rates. You can learn more about packages and shipment weights from the Shopify Help Center here.