refund after getting billed shopify plan before the 14days

Youssefo6
New Member
1 0 0

hello so my account was charged today i opened my store on april 2 we are april 16 i opened the store at 9pm and my account was charged at 11am of the morning i was planning to close the store at 12pm since i had no sales and i was just testing my first store ever to learn i was not planning on buying a plan when i came back i was shocked my bank account was billed of the plan that i did not want in the first place emailed the billing support in addition to the shipify normal support and guess what its been 5 hours and still no response i emailed them at 1pm its 7:27pm so 9pm is quite close i hope they not going to wait until then and say its been 14 days because obviously its not so please if anyone can help i appreciate it i can't just lose that money knowing im a student and i really need it 

thank you

Replies 26 (26)
Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

Hey, @Youssefo6!

 

Happy to help get this cleared up! To provide some insight, Shopify charges the monthly subscription in UTC time which can cause a charge to appear earlier than expected. That said, as per our Terms of Servicewe do not offer refunds, but if your store was recently closed then we may be able to offer an exception. For this, I have gone ahead and sent an email to verify your account so we can review your refund request. 

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

eidamccoy
New Member
1 0 0

Hello, 

 

I was testing shopify and just wanted to learn how it worked. I was charged the Sept. 14th my $29.00 subscription. Today Sep 16th I cancelled my account. I had intended to do so before the 14th but it as the weekend. Will shopify, refund my monthly subscription? Help! 

Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@eidamccoy 

 

As per our Terms of Servicewe do not offer refunds, but if your store was recently closed then we may be able to offer an exception. If you haven't yet closed the store, you'll want to do so by going to Settings/Account OR Settings/Plans and Permissions (whichever applies to you) and select "Close Store" at the bottom of the page. This will close your store, remove you from active billing, and restrict all access to the account itself. We will need the account to be closed before a refund request can be considered. 

 

With that all said, I've shipped you an email to help get this request completed!

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

akchet
New Member
2 0 0

Hello Peter, I was just charged for the shopify monthly subscription again. I was charged for the past 2 months but I am not looking to recoup those amount. However, I was just charged for this month today. Can I close my store to be refunded that amount back?

 

Alex

myshop09
New Member
2 0 0

My account was charged $29 USD today and i want close the store as this is just  a testing and learn since i had no sales. I was shocked my bank account was billed of the plan that i did not want in the first place. Please if anyone can help i appreciate it i can't just lose that money that i a just a student and i really need it. Can someone guide me how?

myshop09
New Member
2 0 0

I already close the store. How can i trigger the refund?

Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@akchet 

 

From the sounds of it, your account would still be active if you're still being billed for the monthly subscription. Could you attempt to login to your account? If you're greeted with a pricing page, the account is closed, which would indicate that you have a secondary account setup. If you're not greeted with a pricing page, and you're able to fully login, then the account is still active and would require that you navigate to Settings/Account or Settings/Plans and Permissions then select "Close Store" at the bottom of the page. Doing so will put you through the prompts to fully close the store and remove you from active billing. Once done, let me know!

 

@myshop09 

 

Happy to help here! To provide some context, if the account is not closed before the end of the trial period, and a credit card is added, then that indicates that you've authorized our systems to charge the monthly amount. The refund will need to be processed by someone in Support as it's not an automatic refund. As per our Terms of Servicewe do not offer refunds, but if your store was recently closed then we may be able to offer an exception. I've sent you an email to the email listed in your Community account to get this request reviewed. 

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

akchet
New Member
2 0 0

@Trevor 

Hello, I have closed my account which is a paid account. When I sign into it, it brings me to the pricing page.

However, I have another account which is shopify developers preview account. This account seems to not be a paid account, however I cannot seem to find where to delete this account.

 

Am I still able to obtain the refund for my paid account which I have closed?

Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@akchet 

 

Thank you for ensuring your account was closed. We'll need to take this to email as we can't speak about account specifics in a public forum. I've sent you an email to the email listed on your forums account. If you can follow up there, then I can get your refund request reviewed. 

 

Chat soon!

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

bgthe1og
New Member
2 0 0
Hello, I currently hold a Shopify Account and I wasn't notified for rebilling of this month. On this day, I was planning to close my store as I have already sold the goods internally and externally. Not knowing I was going to be billed automatically 29 USD from my bank account as I had received a notification from my bank being so. My request is to have the 29 USD refunded back to my account as I cannot afford to lose my money as I have personal bills to pay in the next few days, please consider my request. If this intends to be successful, Shopify may have to authority to immediately shut down my store. Thank you for your kind consideration.
Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@bgthe1og 

 

Our billing system will invoice a store every 30 days; however, this is done in UTC, which can cause your store to be billed quicker than expected. As per our Terms of Servicewe do not offer refunds, but if your store was recently closed then we may be able to offer an exception. If you haven't closed your store, you will need to do this by going to Settings/Plans and Permissions and selecting "Close Store" at the bottom of the page. Once done, you can reply here, and I'll verify your account and review your refund request. 

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

ninjko
New Member
1 0 0

Hi, I have the same situation where I planned on closing my store on the last day of the trial but was unable to close in time. I closed my store today, just after I received an invoice yesterday and the customer support representative I contacted said that they do not issue any kind of refund. However, this forum seems to be pretty recent so I would just like to check in for an update about whether I can get a refund.

Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@ninjko 

 

Happy to help get your refund request reviewed. I've sent you an email to the email listed on your forums account. If you can reply to the email with the requested information, then we can get the ball rolling. 

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

purplebuddhman
New Member
1 0 0

@Trevor 

 

I am in a similar situation except that I have an annual plan of a charge of $850.

I have already started a ticket but would I also need to stop my store

in order to receive a refund? I was just hoping to get my money back and switch

to the monthly basic plan. Please let me know on what would be the best

course of action.

 

Thanks

Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@purplebuddhman 

 

I can't provide specific information to your ticket on a public forum outside of letting you know that your request has been escalated and is being reviewed by our Billing team. Once they have an update, they will follow up with you via email. 

For security reasons, I have edited your reply and removed the ticket number from your response. 

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

anthonymquintal
New Member
2 0 0

Hello Peter,

 

I currently have a shopify account with three profiles within my account. Today, I subscribed to a plan to the wrong account. Is there any way I could get a refund ASAP?

 

Thank you,

Anthony

Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@anthonymquintal 

 

Are you planning on using the account? As per our Terms of Servicewe do not offer refunds, but if your store was recently closed then we may be able to offer an exception. If you do intend on using the account and wish to keep it active, then we would not be able to review a refund request. 

 

Let me know!

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

ib2001
New Member
3 0 0

Hello,

 

I made a Shopify account and was trying to learn how to use it. Shopify charged for the $32.77 USD plan on December 17th. I closed my store today, December 19th and would like Shopify to refund my monthly subscription. I am a student and need the money back. Please help! 

Trevor
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3210 432 734

@ib2001 

 

I can help with that! To do so, I'll need to verify your account by sending you an email. If you could please respond to that email at your earliest convenience, then we can get the ball rolling on reviewing your refund request.

 

Chat soon!

Trevor | Community Moderator @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog