Why are my payouts marked as paid but not in my bank account?

TomEto
Tourist
5 0 1

I have payouts marked as "paid" since November 3rd. However, none of those funds have reached my bank account. I tried reaching out to Shopify Support but they've been walking me in circles since November 11th!! Is there a phone number somewhere so I can call and get this sorted? I'm starting to believe Shopify is doing this on purpose

Replies 10 (10)

Lana
Shopify Staff (Retired)
849 77 109

Hello, @TomEto!

 

I understand this is frustrating. 

 

The first thing to check here is to make sure that you have the correct banking info on file, and this can be done by going to Settings > Payments > Manage, you should be able to see the last 2 digits of your bank account and the banking institution.

 

If it's not correct, our team can help you change your details. 

 

If the account is correct, it is generally returned to us as failed within a number of business days. Payouts can take up to 10 business days to return as failed.
 
Since you have had this issue for over 10 days now, this means that the bank has not returned the funds to Shopify and they may be holding out on either depositing or returning (if the details are wrong, for example).
 
A Trace ID/Transfer Reference can be used to track down a payout.
 
The Trace ID is included in your payouts as the “Transfer reference.” You can provide this number to your bank as a supplementary piece of information if trying to search for a specific transfer:
 
23-03-gf1yd-1xx9b
 
Have you been in touch with your bank yet, and have you shared the trace ID with them in an attempt to track it down?

Lana | Social Care @ Shopify
-Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

TomEto
Tourist
5 0 1

Hi Lana,
Thanks for getting back to me! 
The Shopify Support team helped me change my bank details, so those were updated a couple of days ago. I was now re-reading the conversation with them and I noticed that the previous bank was wrong. Maybe the account number was right (hard to say since I could only see the last 2 digits), but the bank institution was for sure wrong (probably because the sort code was incorrect). It looks correct now. How can we retrieve the money that went to the wrong bank? 

Regarding the Trace IDs, I passed those on to my bank and they said they can't use that, they need ARN numbers, which Shopify Support was unable to provide. 

Lana
Shopify Staff (Retired)
849 77 109

Thanks for confirming that!

 

It's good that you already have a line of communication established with us on emails, as you will be able to go back and reply to that thread directly to get context on what happens next in terms of receiving the payout and if a reversal is possible.

 

I would suggest you send a message enquiring about that ASAP, so you can get that context from the team dealing with your particular case directly. 

Lana | Social Care @ Shopify
-Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

TomEto
Tourist
5 0 1

I sent them the additional context just now. They've been very slow to respond and not very helpful, that's why I decided to open this thread. 

Lana
Shopify Staff (Retired)
849 77 109

You have taken the right steps in all of that.

 

For now, just make sure to keep a close eye on your emails, as well as your spam/junk folder, in case our communication ends up there. 

Lana | Social Care @ Shopify
-Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

proskynstudio
Tourist
4 0 5

Lana can you please help me? My account still isn’t verified for over 2 months and I have 37,000 dollars in my payout that I do not have access to until I’m verified. I have reached out to support over 20 times with no help 

Blair
Shopify Staff
1951 258 229

Hi @proskynstudio,

 

Thanks for reaching out to the Community. I'd be happy to provide some guidance with your request, to ensure it gets resolved. 

 

When it comes to account specific inquiries like these, you will want to connect with us directly if you haven't done so already. This will allow our support team to get you authenticated, as we wouldn't have access to any account information through the Community. They will be able to take a closer look and ensure your account is successfully verified. 

 

Please let me know if you have any other questions. 

Blair | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

proskynstudio
Tourist
4 0 5
I have contacted them over 20 times now and all they keep saying is they’re
short staffed. This is my income and I rely on this money.
Blair
Shopify Staff
1951 258 229

Hi @proskynstudio,

 

Thanks for the prompt response. 

 

While I can understand the impact, I'd encourage you to follow up with us directly on your open ticket. This will allow our support team to confirm the appropriate steps have been taken as we wouldn't have access to any account specific details here through the Community. 

 

If you have followed up with our advisor team already and it has been advised that your ticket was escalated or is being reviewed, then you will want to wait for our reply. While I can completely understand how that may not be ideal, our teams are working as quickly as possible to ensure this gets resolved.

 

Please let me know if you have any other questions or concerns. 

Blair | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

proskynstudio
Tourist
4 0 5
I will not continue to wait. It says verification takes up to 48 hours and
at most 10 days, it has been over 50 now. I have no choice but to contact
my lawyer to get this resolved as this is almost 40 grand on the line for
me.