Why was I billed after closing my online store?

Edboy57
Visitor
2 0 0

So recently I was billed even after I closed my store and pretty much shut down everything. I would like to have an explanation as even the card I have on file isn’t even active.

 

Replies 3 (3)

Shay
Shopify Staff
2928 455 601

Hi @Edboy57 

 

I understand that you have received a billing fee for a store you recently closed. If the store is fully deactivated, then the billing fees would automatically be stopped as well. If you attempt to sign back into the closed store you should be able to review all billing charges without reactivating the account. If the billing charge you noted is not listed in there, then the charge came from a different account. 

 

Is there a possibility that you opened a second store on the platform? Or that someone else used your billing details on their store? 

 

Our authenticated support team would be happy to help you review this billing fee and confirm if it came from your deactivated store. To access our authenticated support, please follow this link: Shopify Help Center and type "Contact Support" into the AI chat. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Edboy57
Visitor
2 0 0

I thought I did but I guess not, Hopefully, I next month I don't get charged

Shay
Shopify Staff
2928 455 601

If the store you are being charged for is still open on the platform, then the billing fees will continue to happen. I do recommend contacting our authenticated support team for further assistance in reviewing this! 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog