Does the chip and swipe reader need wifi or is bluetooth enough?

sgtkrav264
Visitor
3 0 0

I've never used the chip and swipe reader before. We are getting ready for a pop up. Do I need wifi for chip reader to work or will it keep working with just bluetooth? Also has anyone tried using the POS system with Android devices instead of Apple?

Replies 3 (3)

Julie
Shopify Staff
1109 106 368

Hi, @sgtkrav264!

Julie here from Shopify Support.

I'm glad to hear that you're about to use the Chip & Swipe reader for some a pop-up!

The card reader connects to your device via Bluetooth, rather than WiFi. You can find steps on how to pair your card reader with your mobile device here. We also have a full list of requirements for the Chip & Swipe reader that I suggest checking out.

Keep in mind that while WiFi is not required to pair the card reader, you will need a secure internet connection (WiFi or cellular data) in order to use the Shopify POS app and process in-person transactions. 

As for your device type, if you're using an Android device, then you can use Shopify POS Classic. We have instructions on how to get started with the Shopify POS Classic app that will walk you through the setup process. However, if you have an Apple device, then you can take advantage of the new Shopify POS app. The new Shopify POS app is an upgrade of the Shopify POS Classic app and offers a refreshed and some new features. You can learn more about the differences between both POS app version here.

Once you've setup your POS app and have paired your card reader, it's strongly recommended that you place a test transaction before your pop-up event. This will help you ensure that your card reader is paired successfully and that you understand the transaction process. Testing this out before your event can definitely help you avoid any hiccups on the big day!