POS Pro - $89 a Month?

Merkaba
Excursionist
14 0 10

Having used other POS's I have to say I'm very happy to see that Shopify has come out with a new POS app.

I have found the current POS App lacking in a few areas such as the search function. When you search for something on Google you get a close to real time response, that functionality comes from (if I'm not mistaken) Elasticsearch. Elasticsearch has been around for over ten years and is widely used.

Curbside pickup is a nice feature to have and has been an option on other platforms for years. I'm happy to see it was added for those who needed it and in a pandemic who wouldn’t want to take extra precautions. The letdown (I might have misunderstood) going forward is this will be a paid for POS Pro $89 feature not a standard Shopify function. This pandemic is going to last a long time and impact peoples behaviors for years to come. I'm surprised that we would have to pay extra to keep our customers, communities, family, friends and ourselves safe physically and mentally.

These types of functions should be a standard feature in an app created so recently. 

My question is - to use these functions why do we have to pay two to three times more for what should be standard and in my opinion what we're already paying for?

Replies 18 (18)
godspeedstore
New Member
1 0 2

1 - Agree entirely. Especialy not for $130 Australian dollars at todays exchange rate.
2 - $89 USD a month so for those of us outside of the USA it is significantly more expensive and fluctuates depending on exchange rate...  Can't understand for the life of me why Shopify doesn't offer domestic pricing for their subscriptions. I've been using Shopify for over 5 years and it is a significantly more expensive platform than what I signed up for.

3 - @Shopify will the upgraded design of POS Pro be available in POS Lite or will my store revert to the old design when I opt out of POS Pro due to affordability?

 

LCG
Excursionist
12 0 23

I reached out to Shopify about the extra $89.00 per month. I asked why in a year when small business has had staggering hit after staggering hit do they want to more than double the price for the features we already are using? surprise surprise, no response. What really erks me is that the "new" Pro features aren't new at all. I use them currently with my current plan at $79 per month?!?! Now they want to cut my features in half, then charge more than double to basically let me continue to use said features.  Insert f bombs and flying objects here...

bye bye shopify

LCG
Excursionist
12 0 23

the short answer is yes, you will have to pay the $89 per month to use the very features you already have. In looking and comparing the "new" app to the old, The biggest difference is the Pro plan. essentially, they are taking all the useful features in the current system away and that is the Pro plan. So you will get a new interface that looks more modern, but has half the functionality. Then you get to pay more than double your current rates to get those features back. Why doesn't anyone like this?!?! *SARCASM*

MudandHoneyCF
Excursionist
15 0 29

I just got the email today that my free trial was expiring. I didn't even realize that these new features were a trial and now I have to pay $89 on top of my $79 for this!! This is crazy and downright greedy of Shopify!

Merkaba
Excursionist
14 0 10

I'm also on the $79 a month plan and find the the upcharge that more than doubles the cost to be overly excessive for features that should be standard in any POS at a $79 a month price.

I still do not understand why curbside is an added feature and not just a standard feature. Covid in the US is on the rise in more than 30 states out of 50 and in some areas I'm sure are looking at another round of shutdowns. It doesn't seem to be the right direction for Shopify to go in my opinion putting money over safety.

VaultCalifornia
New Member
1 0 1

Absolutely ridiculous! I agree that these features are ensuring we're able to continue serving our community safely. POS has always been lacking. As someone who has worked in corporate retail, big box retail, small business retail, and my own small business retail, these "pro" features should have been included in POS years ago! I have to pay $90 a month to run an exchange? That is basic retail! Come on, Shopify.. 

SJBW
Tourist
5 0 10

I have been the biggest advocate for Shopify for years and recommended it to so many people... this is the first time I'm saying enough is enough. I can't believe that they are stripping basic POS functionality and slapping a 100%+ increase on price. It feels like a betrayal after all these years of loyal support. Everywhere I turn there is another $5USD, $10USD, $15USD a month for an app for a basic feature. But $89USD/MONTH ($1400+ AUD per year) to be able to make an exchange in our store? Forget it. 

n0kitty
Tourist
5 0 8

I couldn't agree more - to have to pay an EXTRA $1000+ a year in order to offer something as simple as exchanging a product it extortionate. We are invested in Shopify as we use it for our online store & the integrated stock control is crucial to us. There is nothing in the 'Pro' package we can't manage without, except for the ability to offer our customers exchanges.

POS Pro - Is that supposed to be short for 'Professional'? Because here in the UK, I only have one card machine made available to me, and it's the same one every market stall holder using Shopify uses. It's a janky, poorly made, unprofessional looking device. The slot where cards are pushed inside has a lip so my customers can never find it. The buttons are stiff and elderly customers with weak hands can't press the buttons. Oh, and when we ask for a contactless payment, it DOESN'T BEEP. Everyone understands that a beep means the transaction is going through, I am so sick of having to explain to customers that my machine doesn't beep. It's anything but professional. I can't use another card provider, because Shopify will then charge me 1% of each sale.

I was SO impressed that Shopify rolled out the local pickup facility during lockdown - I really felt like they had done something to actually help my business. Little did I know that I would be paying such an extortionate rate for it later down the line - at a time when retail is essentially on its knees and Shopify will be lucky to keep half their retail customers. Those that don't close down will now have to seriously consider the alternatives available to them.  

 

Roostcollection
Pathfinder
97 1 66

This is the least of the issues. Without Shopify Pro you will not be able to do returns or exchanges. This is just a basic function of being in business. This is holding us hostage for $89 monthly.

Roostcollection
Pathfinder
97 1 66

Screen Shot 2020-10-22 at 12.08.46 PM.png

Merkaba
Excursionist
14 0 10

This is crazy, to no be able to do returns are exchanged from the POS??

We can't edit the receipt??

I just do not understand the prepuce of Shopify going in this direction other than to take advantage of people financially!!    

Roostcollection
Pathfinder
97 1 66

The deception is only $89 per month, But add that to the $79 per month for a growing business plan.

$168 Per Month for some basic functions. Sell, Return (once) & still no manual returns.

hope_mortimer
Excursionist
20 0 39

you can do returns but not exchanges. definitely annoying, but you just have to do a return on the old item and then process a new purchase. 

Roostcollection
Pathfinder
97 1 66

At $168 a month you still can’t do a manual return.

If a customer wants to return a gift without a receipt, Paid by cash, no sale to attach the item to, you cannot return the item other than stopping everything and go to your admin on the computer and issue a gift card.

Ya, like I want my employees having access to my computer. Taking the time to issue a gift card and maybe additional cards. What if the return has a value of $5. It cost more to do the return in labor and cost of the card that to just give cash back. 

This is such a great value for $2016 a year!

hope_mortimer
Excursionist
20 0 39

pretty sure it's the same as always, you search under orders (no receipt is definitely a pain), find the item, and process a return. It's just the "exchange" button that's missing. Also I think "restock" toggle is gone too. 

n0kitty
Tourist
5 0 8

Here in the UK, retailers are not compelled to offer returns - our policy is that if an item is brought back within 14 days, the customer is welcome to an exchange or a credit note. This exceeds the statutory minimum requirements, and helps us small independent retailers protect their cash flow. If we can't offer exchanges as standard, our policy then has to change to 'full refund' rather than an exchange system.


The whole thing is overpriced and really poorly timed - retailers are super busy prepping for Christmas and don't now have time to explore alternatives.

Roostcollection
Pathfinder
97 1 66

This feature is a retailers choice. Our policy is we will return anything damaged or not. If we sold it we will return it. They may get a gift card but on small returns under a few dollars it cost more to send an employee to the computer taking them away from the sales floor to issue a gift card. (that cost $1.25)

Then your employee has access to your computer and sales, which is none of there business. They can also issue fraudulent gift cards as well.

Olivia
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
938 82 173

Hi, everyone.

My name is Olivia and I am part of the Shopify Team.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us, and I further wanted to direct you to this thread on the All-new Shopify POS. This will help us ensure all feedback is kept organized in one thread, and that we don't miss any of your comments.

Please continue to engage with us there should you have any more feedback to provide.

Warm regards,

Olivia | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog