Creating a smart_collection using curl but getting error: Required parameter missing or invalid

PaulCutcliffe
Tourist
12 0 1

Hi

I'm quite new to the Shopify API and APIs in general, and I'm trying to create a load of smart_collections that includes products whose tags match the collection titles. 

I have this:

curl -d '{"smart_collection":{"title":"Test","rules":[{"column":"tag","relation":"equals","condition":"Test"}]}}' -X POST "https://{my Private app's Admin API key}:{my Private app's Admin API password}@{my Shopify Site}.myshopify.com/admin/api/2021-10/smart_collections.json" -H "X-Shopify-Access-Token: {my Private app's Admin API password}"

I was unclear at first how to get the access token right so I kept getting this:

{"errors":"[API] Invalid API key or access token (unrecognized login or wrong password)"}

Now I've got that right but I'm getting this instead, but I can't see that I'm missing any parameters or have any that are invalid:

{"errors":{"smart_collection":"Required parameter missing or invalid"}}

Can anyone help me to put this right?

Thanks. 

Replies 18 (18)
awwdam
Shopify Staff
175 32 17

Hey @PaulCutcliffe,

Just wanted to confirm if you are using this doc as a guide? Have you tested a GET or PUT request using this API? From the info shared, the only think noticed was that the cURL requests examples from our docs appear to be using slightly different info than the examples your shared:

curl -d '{"smart_collection":{"title":"IPods","rules":[{"column":"title","relation":"starts_with","condition":"iPod"}]}}' \
-X POST "https://your-development-store.myshopify.com/admin/api/2021-10/smart_collections.json" \
-H "X-Shopify-Access-Token: {access_token}