Creating fulfillment for specific order items wont work: Bad Request 400

LORhys
Shopify Partner
4 0 0

Hey Guys,

I am really new to the Shopify API and I am now facing the task of connecting an API with an external vendor. I have managed to set up the API with running some JS on via the App "Cloud Hooks" however I am facing some issues when trying to post the fulfillment details to shopify.

Currently I'm just testing the post and can't seem to get it working. All I get is a generic 400 Bad Request without further information.

I'm sure doing such a thing should be pretty common for some veteran shopify devs. Could someone give me a hand? I tried casting the non string values to strings and still had the same response.

Thanks and kind regards,

PS: The authentication worked fine so that shouldn't be the issue.

Rhys

Screenshot 2021-10-12 at 23.23.04.png

Replies 5 (5)

LORhys
Shopify Partner
4 0 0

Btw, I tried it like this initialy.

Also both the order number and the line_item_id where taken from actual orders off of my store.

Screenshot 2021-10-12 at 23.33.10.png

cyclic_science
Tourist
6 0 1

I've used this endpoint extensively, although not recently.

Assuming your IDs for the order and order_items are correct, I'd check if fulfillments already exist on the order. Store settings can have a fulfillment created early in the lifecycle automatically, which you would need to "complete" rather than create a new fulfillment. Alternatively, you could cancel the existing fulfillment to allow you to create a new one.

LORhys
Shopify Partner
4 0 0

Thanks for your swift response!

So I've checked the order json and the fulfillments array is still initial and the I checked the order id by pasting it out of my code to the header and the line_item.id seems to be correct aswell:

"fulfillments":[],"line_items":[{"id":10681151389885