Solved

Making sense of appBridge in NodeJs/express POS app

runTimeZero
Shopify Partner
20 0 0

Hello,

I am new to shopify development.

I am using NodeJs + express.

I am creating app for POS system and hence want to use appBridge.

So far I have got my app to authenticate  and redirect and show up in Shopify admin. 

To give you an example, i authorize the shopfiy store as below:

const app = express(); app.get('/shopify/auth', function (req, res) {     const shop = req.query.shop;     if (shop) {         const redirectUri = CONSTANTS.forwardingAddress + '/shopify/admin_dashboard';         const installUrl = 'https://' + shop + '/admin/oauth/authorize?client_id=' + apiKey + '&scope=' + CONSTANTS.scope +     '&redirect_uri=' + redirectUri;         res.redirect(installUrl);    } else {         return res.status(400).send('missing shop parameter. Please add ?shop=your-development-shop.myshopify.com to your request'); } );

// This is the redirect path app.get('/shopify/admin_dashboard, function(req, res) {
// send dashboard page
});

This works fine and the redirectURI is called which then does a bunch of stuff. However I don't quiet understand where appBridge fits into this equation ? 

Again, I am trying to create an app for Shopify POS and need access to the cart.  I understand that i need to create a cart object (https://help.shopify.com/en/api/embedded-apps/app-bridge/actions/cart#add-line-item). Where does this object get created ? is it on the server in my nodeJs-express app ? If so that means that my server is now stateful which is not what i desire. 

Does someone have a good example of how to accomplish this.

I have spent way too much time trying to figure this out and must say shopify could do with better documentation.

Accepted Solution (1)

Gianni-C
Shopify Staff (Retired)
1 1 0

This is an accepted solution.