Obtaining an inventory total for variant using GraphQL

alibby
9 0 0

Hi - I'm new to Shopify: love what I see, but am struggling with what I hope will be one small problem:

I'm trying to get the inventory count for a variant - I've scoured the Shopify dev site and docs, but haven't found anything that works for me. So far, I have managed to get back a JSON object with details of a test variant, using the steps at this link. This gives me results when I use https://havecakeeatcake.myshopify.com/admin/api/2020-07/products/5557596127382/variants/356239605433....

I'd really like to get the same data using GraphQL if at all possible - I can see there is an option to do this on that page, but if I use the GraphQL example given:

query getVariantByID($id: ID!) {
  productVariant(id: $id) {
    id
    title
    inventoryItem {
      id
    }
  }
}

I've updated the productVariant entry to shopifyProductVariant (I hope that's right!), but the inventoryItem entry does not feature at all in my GraphiQL explorer. How would I turn the REST query into something I can use in GraphQL? I'm using Gatsby / GraphQL as the basis for my site, so would like to return something that I can then consume in my site.

I suspect there is something not set correctly somewhere, but am not sure where - I've checked my Admin API permissions, and have Inventory and Products both set to read-only; is this sufficient? At this stage I'm not looking to update this value; it's purely a POC to confirm I can return details from the Shopify Admin API into my site when needed. The site is also a single location.

Any ideas? I'd love to see this working on my site - please help!

Replies 16 (16)

Kevin_A
Shopify Staff
318 42 61

Hey @alibby 

You are looking for the inventoryLevels connection: 

{
  productVariant(id:"gid://shopify/ProductVariant/<id>"){
    inventoryItem{
      id
      inventoryLevels(first:5){
        edges{
          node{
            available
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}