Solved

Shopify integration with external OTA API

VuHVo
Shopify Partner
4 0 0

I'm a web developer working for a shopify merchant as freelancer. My client is trying to make our store an online travel agency (OTA) and requested that I integrate hotel inventory data from third-party api (a bed bank api).
Since i'm currently working fulltime as a .NET Core developer, I'd to use .Net Core app to source the hotel listings from bed bank. My understanding is that I can utilize Product Admin API (graphQL) to programmatically import inventory data into our store product db. But I cannot integrate Booking operations API (checking availability) into our storefront.

My question is, How can I integrate Booking operations API, or Availability checking API  into our Shopify storefront? Do I make requests from inside the Liquid Theme code? or should I use Shopify Custom/Embedded apps?
Ideally, I would like to save all inventory (static) data into my own .NET db (could be a sql server connected to my .net app), then, our storefront can somehow communicate with my .net app in order to search-filter the hotel listings, and then also communicate with my .net app to check availability, make booking, and even make payment for any hotel listing

Much appreciation if anyone can give me just a drafted architectural design for this requirement?

THANKS 

Accepted Solution (1)
HunkyBill
Shopify Expert
4846 60 552

This is an accepted solution.

Any Shopify App you install in your store can run an App Proxy. If you want to play with a Shopify store, and hook it up to external APIs, booking APIs, whatever, so that the front-end, what Shopify customers would see and interact with, you use an App. And the App Proxy can be convenient, as it allows Ajax calls to the App, something you cannot securely do otherwise.