A snippet does not look valid (UA-xxxx-x)

SMB
Visitor
1 0 0

I’m trying to connect google analytics to my Shopify account and keep getting an error error message of analytics snippet does not look valid (UA-xxxx-x). I have googled and tried everything and it’s still not working! Does anyone know how to fix this ?

thanks in advance

Replies 17 (17)

jimmychen
Shopify Partner
2 0 5

when you create site in google analytics   , you need to click "Universal Analytics" options,it will create "UA-xxx"

if no click the option ,default create "G-xxx"

CosmosCooking
Visitor
1 0 0

this is also happening to me. Do you know where i can go to change that setting? i have tried to google everything but cannot find it at all.

LukaszWiktor
Shopify Partner
314 24 120

It looks like it's not possible to change the setting. You'd need to create a new property. When creating the property, click on Show advanced options and enable Create a Universal Analytics property

image.png

I'm a software engineer. I make things happen automatically.
Check out my apps Exporteo, Fulfilleo, Stockeo, and Personal Discount.
ChrisRobilliard
Visitor
1 0 2

Same happened to me.

Thanks to @LukaszWiktor recommendation I was able to solve it. I would just add that once the "Create a Universal Analytics property" is checked, Google by default creates two properties, the G-XXX one and the UA-XXX; and you are redirected to the G-XXX by default too. So what you need to do is select the UA-XXX property so you can copy / paste the correct tag.

JavierCastro90
Tourist
4 0 1

Buenas,donde hay que entrar para  seleccionar la propiedad UA-XXX para poder copiar / pegar la etiqueta correcta ?

No lo localizo y me sigue dando fallo.Gracias

capitanyuri
Visitor
1 0 0

i created a universal analytics property,
but the code does not work on the site, I have seen your answer but I cannot find from where to select the UA-XXX property could you give more precise indications? thank you

BeccaBooks
Visitor
1 0 0