Develop a brand new Standalone App vs Embedded App

dmzg10
Visitor
2 0 0

Hi,

I'm new to Shopify App Development. I want to build a custom application which let the end users (customers) of my company's store login into a simple dashboard and let them do a few actions (populate shopping cart with specific products...). I was considering building a Standalone app for this because my end users don't need to have access to the Shopify Admin. However, given that I HAVEN'T FOUND A SINGLE STANDALONE APP DEVELOPMENT TUTORIAL I guess I'm going to end up going for an Embedded app. What do you think?? Would you do the same?? Or you would push for Standalone despite of the lack of documentation. My new embedded app would block all normal Shopify Admin permissions (orders, reports, discounts, etc.) and would only allow access to this embedded app (is this technically possible??). Do you think this is the right decision??? I feel as if Shopify wouldn't want people to develop Standalone apps...

Thanks in advance 🙂
Replies 3 (3)

Leith
Shopify Partner
12 1 3

Hello Dmzg10,

Shopify promotes the development of embedded apps as they are inside the Shopify admin and easy for merchants to access. But still, you can create Standalone apps like we used to create other web applications with just normal OAuth process and query or mutate data using the Shopify api. 

Feel free to reply if you have any questions 🙂

Thank you

Leith

SamyBahaa
Visitor
1 0 0

Hi  leith,

i have a question regarding the standalone app. I have my own web application and i want to integrate it in shopify app store but as a standalone. once the customer cilck on install My app on shopify app store i want to redirect it to my own web application.

Can this be done..?

elijah-atamas
Shopify Partner
1 0 0