Brooklyn Template Filtering or Upgrade

fernandojordio
18 0 0

Hi

I’m after advice if possible. I currently use the Brooklyn theme for my website:   www.jordanguitars.co.uk

I am very happy with the design of the website as it is and am keen not to change this if possible.

I do however need the ability to add custom filters to my collections pages - that are specific to each different collection. I’d like these filtering options to run as a banner across the top of the product images rather than down the side of the page.

Can you advise how I can add this filtering without changing the design of my website please?

If we need to move to a 2.0 template can you advise which of the Free templates would allow us to achieve the above filtering without having to change the design and layout of the rest of the site?  I am not technically minded so am looking for a quick/easy transition if possible.

Thanks for your help - appreciate it!

Steve

Jordan Guitars

Replies 10 (10)

NexaStudio
Excursionist
65 1 0

Hello Steve,

It's great to hear that you're happy with the design of your website using the Brooklyn theme. Adding custom filters to your collections pages is a specific customization that may require some coding or theme adjustments. Here's a general guideline on how you might achieve this:

1. Backup Your Store: Before making any changes, it's advisable to create a backup of your store to ensure that you can restore it if needed.

2. Access Your Theme Code:

• From your Shopify admin, go to "Online Store" and then "Themes."
    • Find the Brooklyn theme and click on "Actions," then select "Edit Code."
  3. Modify Collections Template:

• Locate the template file that controls the layout of your collections pages (usually named "collection.liquid").
    • Integrate custom filter code at the desired location, such as a banner across the top of the product images.
  4. Implement Custom Filters: