Hover over color swatch on product variant option in Dawn Theme.

Nourablanc
Tourist
10 0 2

First of all I apologize but I have searched and cannot find specifically what I was looking for and I have zero knowledge of coding. I was able to find a YouTube video that allowed me to change the code to add color swatches for my product variants which caused me great anxiety because I was so unsure of what I was doing! (but I did it!)

However, I would like to add a hover affect over the color swatches so that customers can visually see when they move across the color options. Right now it seems difficult to tell if a specific color/size combo is available because when clicking on the color it doesn't enlarge or highlight so it make it hard to determine if you are selecting the color properly. Does that make sense? 

Also, if there is code some where that allows me to use the name of the color AND the color as the variant on one button or to include the name under the color that would be awesome. I haven't been able to locate any though. 

Appreciate any and all help. 

Replies 5 (5)

KetanKumar
Shopify Partner
36855 3637 11978

@Nourablanc 

oh sorry for any issue do mean like this 

Change Main-Product.Liquid

Go to edit code, head over to the Section folder and find main-product.liquid. Once found, scroll down until you find the below code

<label for="{{ section.id }}-{{ option.position }}-{{ forloop.index0 }}">
{{ value }}
</label>

replace the above, with the below code

{% assign variant_needed = null %}
{% for variant in product.variants %}
{% if variant.options contains value %}
{% assign variant_needed = variant %}
{% endif %}
{% endfor %}
{% if variant_needed.metafields.color.swatch and option.name == "Color" %}
<label class="color-swatch" for="{{ section.id }}-{{ option.position }}-{{ forloop.index0 }}" data-option="{{ value }}" style="background-color: {{variant_needed.metafields.color.swatch}}">
&nbsp
</label>