To continue receiving payouts, you need to secure your account by turning on two-step authentication. If two-step authentication is not turned on your payouts will be paused. Learn more

[PALO ALTO] Problem with color swatches integration

MaxCosta
Shopify Partner
206 2 56

Hello to the entire Shopify community!

I'm finalizing one of my stores and I'm running into a problem I've never had until today.

(This is my first time working on Palo Alto)

I wanted to add the color swatches on my product pages, but it doesn't work.

I enabled the option in the theme, I also added .png of 50 x 50px color, naming them by the variant name "black.png" or "chrome.png", in the theme assets.

The color swatches are enabled, but the colors do not appear. Screen below:

screecolorswatches.JPG

Here is the preview of the store: https://wawmpp6l143sgsgy-56040783969.shopifypreview.com

Thanks in advance for your help,

Best,

Max Costa

Reply 1 (1)
Tormod_plus_5
1 0 0

Hey Max, I hope you fixed this. If not, or for anyone finding this post, I think this is why it's not working:

The theme has a long list of defined color names and what hex color or image corresponds to it in the swatches.json file.

If it cannot find a corresponding color name, it will deliver a default "blank.gif" image.

BUT, you can define these and add new ones yourself!

Go to Theme --> Edit code --> swatches.json

Here you see a list of HEX codes corresponding to a specific color name. 

Following the same structure, you can add new ones and define the color or image to be used.

ex:

{
      "black": "black.png"
    },

Somewhat related but prerequisite (I think you did this already Max):

Palo Alto gets swatches from the language set in the theme.

Go to Theme --> Edit languages --> Search for "Swatches" and add the preferred name, which in default (english) is "Color" – But should in the french example be changed to "Couleur".