Unit testing themes

jfonte
2 0 2

Hi everyone. I'm new to Shopify and was wondering if there's an easy way to get started implementing some kind of unit tests on themes. I want to make sure my designers are not breaking stuff when they implement new features. Any insights would be super mega appreciated! CHEERS!

Replies 10 (10)
Paul_B1
Shopify Staff
44 0 4

Hello! Paul here, from the Guru team.

With Shopify you can have many themes on your store and of course only one is published/live at a time, so you can work on these other themes to test things out before putting them live. This way you don't risk any damage from playing around with the theme and its code. If you head over to Online Store > Themes in your admin, you will see "..." at the top right of your theme. Click that and select "Duplicate". This will give you a copy of your theme that can be worked on in the background. I would recommend creating duplicates for anything you want to test out!

Cheers,
Paul,
Shopify Guru

JackTheMac
1 0 3

It does not answer the question of unit testing.

Is there any tool at Shopify that can run unit tests against liquid files?

I mean some kind of mruby env for evaluating liquid tests.

nathanp
Excursionist
21 0 12

Yes, where is the unit test. At the moment it appears testing is done through clicking all the buttons manually and hoping you didn't miss anything.... which seams craaaaaaaazy!

Has anyone successfully built a test framework, in any language (desperate here) that they might be willing to share?

PaulNewton
Shopify Partner
3499 234 684

Any solution is unique as unfortunately there is no test suite for shopify's flavor of liquid.

It's difficult since it doesn't have an ast ,or really even a formal grammar, or even source maps at this time.

Also Shopify liquid core doesn't have parity with what you'd get from using the open source version of liquid or others flavors like jekyll.