Solved

Experiencing unusual USPS label price adjustments?

Darkruler
Excursionist
14 0 10

Did anyone else encounter this yesterday? I can, on occasion get a couple a month for the odd cents or even a dollar. However, yesterday on the 4th, around 730PM I received over 30 adjustments.

 

Thing is when you look at the adjustment reason it states that the weight was not correct or the dimensions were not correct. Regarding the weight, it was always overweighed in my favor because I rounded up. For instance, a 6.5oz package I rounded up to 8oz since it honestly does not matter when you're within that 1-4oz, 5-8oz etc so I round up. Quite a few packages came back with the same total weight of (0.16)oz which is less than the weight of an empty box I use. This applied to a 12oz package and yet they STILL charged me an adjustment. That should have resulted in a credit even though the weight they corrected it to is obviously wrong

 

Then they stated the dimensions were off but only by fractions of an inch which still wouldn't change the postal price of said package. All packages were shipped through USPS first class mail which does not use dimensional weight. Even if they corrected it, the price of postage is still the same. 

 

An order going from one city in my state to another city in the same state about 40 miles away was adjusted as well. They stated the weight as (0.16)oz when the label said 4oz. The dimensions were listed as being off by fractions of an inch. They charged me $22.00 and thats on top of the original shipping of $4. That's $26 and nothing I have found explains this charge or any of the others like it.

 

So on all of these packages, every single one was at least a $20 adjustment fee they charged me with at least 25 of them all being the exact same adjustment amount of $22.00USD. That doesn't even make sense as the packages were going all over the United States with different weights and dimensions.

 

In all they charged $700 in adjustments yesterday and no one can explain why. Shopify tells me to contact the post office. The post office tells me I need to file claims. Because Shopify is the authorized postal merchant they have all the information and adjustment ID numbers I need to file claims. Even if I file the claims and win, the amount goes back to shopify's merchant shipping account. Who knows if it would then go back to me. 

 

I filed these adjustments on my own shipping account in the past when I had an endicia account. So I know how it works and it is shopify that must dispute it. Yet they throw their hands in the air.

 

Today when I contacted shopify again, they said that other sellers are experiencing this same issue. Called it a problem with the "order timeline." I have my doubts as he did not provide much detail and offered no timeframe on a refund or anything. I only have 60 days from the date of the adjustment to get my money back. I have read this same issue going back to at least 2020 with no resolution according to the threads I read on here. I asked for the adjustment ID numbers that I need and he ignored the question and didn't offer them. 

Accepted Solution (1)

Shay
Shopify Staff
2968 460 609

This is an accepted solution.

Hi everyone,

 

I understand that many of you received unexpected USPS shipping adjustments for orders shipped using First Class Package. Those affected by this issue would have seen charges from July 4th and 5th. 

 

There was an issue with USPS and their billing system, which has since been resolved. All affected merchants should have received an email to their account owner email address detailing this. Depending on the status of these erroneous shipping charges, you may see either a shipping credit or a refund to resolve this. 

 

If you have not received an email communication about this and believe you were affected, please reach out to our authenticated support channels for additional help. To access our authenticated support, please follow this link: Shopify Help Center. Next, you will want to follow the on screen prompts to sign in, choose your topic and issue and at the bottom of the help articles provided will be all available support options. 

 

NOTE:: You do not need to file a claim with USPS for a refund. I saw some comments saying you had been redirected to USPS to file a claim for your packages. If your shipping label adjustments were caused by this system error you do not need to do anything. These charges will be taken care of without any claims required. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

View solution in original post

Replies 109 (109)
BSchultz
Tourist
7 0 8

Whole heartedly agree with you. This whole situation has left a very bad taste in my mouth.  Time to search for a new platform! 


BSchultz
Tourist
7 0 8

I also don’t believe this was a USPS issue and Shopify is trying to cover their tracks. My personal opinion but $22 isn’t even a USPS fee. Try again Shopify……

Shay
Shopify Staff
2968 460 609

Hi @JabApparel 

 

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. Shopify absolutely values the businesses on our platform and we strive to always provide world class service. Please know that your feedback here is listened to and shared with the appropriate teams.  

 

To clarify on the shipping credits, credits will only be applied if you have a billing fee for these charges that has not yet been completed. If the bill is still in progress or in a pending state, then a shipping credit will be applied to the account to cover those additional charges when the bill is finalized. 

 

If you have bills with charges on them that have been successfully paid then you should be receiving a refund for those charges, not a shipping credit. 

 

We know that each business is unique and if you feel that the solution proposed for your store is not suitable or that you require further compensation, please reach out to our authenticated support channels to discuss that. Our team is happy to review situations like this on a case by case basis when requested.

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

DesignBee
Visitor
1 0 0

The only email we received was telling us that our shop was identified as one that received one or more USPS adjustments and that the technical team is reviewing the issue.  We have received no update since. This is absolutely ridiculous. This should have been fixed by now!

Shay
Shopify Staff
2968 460 609

Hi @DesignBee 

 

If you have not yet received any further communications from our team about this please reach out to our authenticated support for an update. 

 

The issue is considered resolved (as in no longer happening) and corrections should have been rolled out to all affected merchants. You can also double check in your admin under Settings > Billing to see if there are any refunds or shipping credits applied to your billing cycle. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

STG87
Tourist
7 0 10

When will shipping credits be available in our accounts? I see nothing yet 

rosuraie
Tourist
3 0 3

When will the refund show up as processing?? I got my shipping credit but my refund for the amount that I already paid doesn’t show up in my recent bills at all, even though the email says it should.

bransonbaits
Visitor
1 0 0

I've been affected by this. A press release re this issue is the kind of thing that would affect a stock price. You hear me Shopify.

 

Shay
Shopify Staff
2968 460 609

Hi @bransonbaits 

 

Thank you for joining the conversation. This issue was from earlier this year and should be fully resolved by now. Are you seeing recent issues with your shipping charges? If yes, please reach out to our authenticated support team for a review of these charges and further assistance. To access our authenticated support, please follow this link: Shopify Help Center

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Pripri
Explorer
60 0 16

we do not use Shopify, but USPS click and ship and UPS on our own. Why use Shopify when it is so easy to deal with shipping compaies directly ? UPS does adjust afterwards and alwyas fo a bit less money.