Google App Products Not Approved

emofo
Visitor
1 0 0

I am attempting to sync my products with the Google App. About 1/3 of my products are approved on the app, however, the other 2/3 remain "not approved" or "pending".

I keep getting the error messages "Barcode isn’t valid" or "Barcode isn’t the correct length (needs to be 8, 12, 13, or 14 digits in length)." I have attempted to edit the barcodes, but I am having no success in getting them approved. 

These products are unique, handmade items. We build the items ourselves, so there is no specific barcode associated with the products.

Any suggestions on how to fix?

Replies 7 (7)

finderspickers
Tourist
5 0 7

@emofo 

First, I am NOT an expert. I am a struggling one-person shop learning the ropes as I go. I don't know if this will help you but it helped me. It took a long time to finally get Google to recognize my items. Please take the time to follow up on Google or elsewhere before you take these steps.

A little bit about my shop... I have a shop where all items are Vintage. and considered "Custom" by Google Shopping. I use the API Content feed. My items do not have barcodes.

For Google Shopping to recognize my items as Custom I had to create a Feed Rule to apply to ALL of my items... (I don't know if you can apply a Feed Rule to just SOME items... but that didn't apply to me. You may have to read up on Feed Rules more to see if you can apply to just SOME items).

In your Google Merchant Center under Products/Feeds create a Feed Rule...

1. Click on your feed name

2. Click on Feed Rules (a tab at the top of the page)

3. Click on the blue circle with the plus + sign

4. Click on Processed Attributes

5. Select Identifier Exists

6. The Identifier Exists must be set to "No" (What this does is tell Google Shopping that your item is Custom and does not have a unique GTIN, UPC, Manufacturer Number)