What should a new Shopify store owner focus on learning first?

BalancedBean
Excursionist
24 1 6

As a newer Shopify store owner, I am still learning the ropes. I am guessing that similar posts have been made before from others who have been at the same point I am. I LOVE my store, and I am loving Shopify, and I have had good feedback about my store so far. I am getting overwhelmed with so much to learn (I have zero background in business, ecommerce, etc.). Having to learn about site design, and SEO, and marketing, and legal policies, and taxes, and pop-ups, and Google/FB ads, and analytics, etc. makes me feel like I might be in over my head, but I REALLY don't want to give up on it. I spend most of my free time trying to figure it all out, but I have no direction, no specifics to focus on, so most of the time, it feels like I am just spinning my wheels, and not getting any traction. I realize that it takes time to see the results of the hard work, but it doesn't feel like I am making any progress at all (averaging less than 10 visitors/day). 

If you have been where I am, how did you get past it? What did you do to figure it all out? What should my priorities be in terms of learning/implementing? I am desparate for solid advice. Anything that any of you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

https://1stduedesigns.com/

Thanks in advance,

Ted

EDIT: Please don't message me to try to sell me anything. I am posting in this forum with the hopes of receiving support from the Shopify community. Thank you.

Replies 3 (3)

Nia
Shopify Staff
537 38 79

Hi, @ , 

Thanks for reaching out about this!

Firstly, congratulations on opening your store! This is a great achievement alone! I do understand the overwhelming feeling that can come with opening an online store as there is definitely an abundance to learn. However, our Shopify community is here for you all the way!