I can't renew my domain unless I pay Shopify $29 for the subscription. That's domain fraud.

MsLove
Tourist
3 0 1

When i started my Shopify Store, I purchased my domain from SHOPIFY! Well every year when it was time to renew my domain I could not renew my domain without paying for the shopify subscription. Shopify keeps giving me the run around about they don't own my domain. The charges on my bank statements say Shopify no other Company for $14.

They even went as far as listing Tucows as my domain provider, well Tuscow sent me an email stating Shopify is indeed my Domain Provider. I've  been back and forth chatting with Shopify about this matter. It's been 2 months the problem has not been fixed I've been paying $29 for 2 months with my store not pointing to any domain.

So what do you do now? IT'S ILLEGAL FOR DOMAIN PROVIDERS NOT TO OFFER A WAY FOR THEIR CONSUMERS TO RENEW THEIR DOMAIN. THERE SHOULD BE A CERTAIN WEBSITE OR WEB ADDRESS THAT IS ALWAYS AVAILABLE FOR CONSUMERS TO ACCESS THEIR DOMAIN AND SETTINGS. REGARDLESS IF THEY HAVE A SHOPIFY STORE OR NOT

1. FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE FEDERAL TRADE  COMMISSION.

2. FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE INTERNET CRIMES COMPLAINT CENTER . 

3. FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB.

4. SEND SHOPIFY A LETTER REGARDING THIS INCIDENT.

5. SEND SHOPIFY A SECOND LETTER REGARDING THEIR BUSINESS PRACTICES AND LAWSUIT

6. FILE A LAWSUIT AGAINST THEM FOR INTERNET FRAUD. 

Has this ever happened to you? If so file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, or Internet Crimes. 

Replies 6 (6)

onlinemeating
Tourist
16 0 3

yes. money is gone 

Trevor
Community Moderator
3391 459 982

Hi, @MsLove