I closed my paid store, want to reopen

Solved
msjulianajames
New Member
2 0 0

I hope this isn't a duplicate. My payment came out for my store today. I closed my store today. Since there are no refunds (which I didn't realize until after closing), I'd like to reopen my store for the remainder of the month, but when I login, I'm only getting options to pay for the store...which I already did. Am I missing something?

Accepted Solutions (2)

Accepted Solutions
Helen
Shopify Staff
1391 169 230

This is an accepted solution.

Hello, @msjulianajames

 

I’m Helen from Shopify Support. Thanks for your question.

 

You are not missing anything. Being prompted to choose a plan upon logging in after closing your store, is normal behaviour. Reactivating your account within 30 days of closing will resume your original billing cycle once a plan is chosen, therefore, please choose the same plan you were on prior to cancellation, and your payment will automatically be applied to your account so that you can pick up exactly where you left off.

 

I’m sorry to hear that you are wanting to close your store. Is there something in particular that you are struggling with that prompted your decision to close? Please let me know; I’m here to help, and happy to work with you to grow your business.

Helen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

View solution in original post

Helen
Shopify Staff
1391 169 230

This is an accepted solution.

Thanks for your reply, @Vals. We can certainly look further into this for you to determine what’s going on, and how to proceed towards a resolution.  

 

In order to do so, we’ll need to access your account. While we’re not able to provide account-specific support via the Shopify Community at this time, we’d be happy to continue assisting you through live chat, email, or callback. Please visit the Shopify Help Center to create a support request.

 

Since this is the next step, I've marked this reply as the solution for the benefit of others who may discover this topic. Let me know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Helen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

View solution in original post

Replies 13 (13)
Helen
Shopify Staff
1391 169 230

This is an accepted solution.

Hello, @msjulianajames

 

I’m Helen from Shopify Support. Thanks for your question.

 

You are not missing anything. Being prompted to choose a plan upon logging in after closing your store, is normal behaviour. Reactivating your account within 30 days of closing will resume your original billing cycle once a plan is chosen, therefore, please choose the same plan you were on prior to cancellation, and your payment will automatically be applied to your account so that you can pick up exactly where you left off.

 

I’m sorry to hear that you are wanting to close your store. Is there something in particular that you are struggling with that prompted your decision to close? Please let me know; I’m here to help, and happy to work with you to grow your business.

Helen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

View solution in original post

msjulianajames
New Member
2 0 0

Thanks, Helen! I've reactivated my store for the remainder of the month.

 

I'm closing my store because I'm not really sure how to advertise to beef up business.  I've just been paying and not really utilizing my store.

Helen
Shopify Staff
1391 169 230

You’re welcome @msjulianajames!

 

Thanks for sharing your reasons for wanting to close your store. Marketing your business is something that can be tricky, and it does require trial and error to determine what works best for your products and target audience. 

 

Since your store is going to be open for a few more weeks, I recommend taking a look at these Live Workshops we are offering this month. They are geared specifically towards creating and implementing a marketing plan for Black Friday Cyber Monday, which is the busiest weekend of the year for online purchases!

 

In addition to that, we have a lot of great Blog posts to help with increasing traffic and sales. A few that I find particularly relevant are:  

 

 

What types of products are you selling? Which marketing tactics have you tried so far?

 

Helen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

savingsgarage
New Member
1 0 0

Hello, 

 

I am trying to reopen my store. I've attempted to log into my store and get a message-

"It looks like you don't have access to this store. Contact the store administrator for access."

How do I log back in to reopen my store? Thank you.

Helen
Shopify Staff
1391 169 230

Hey, @savingsgarage. I’m sorry to hear you are having trouble reactivating your store!

 

Most commonly, this occurs when there is a small error in the store name used when logging in. Therefore, as a first step towards resolving it, please go to the Forgot Store option on the login page (direct link here), and enter your email address associated with the Account Owner of the store to have the exact myshopify.com url sent to you. Once you’ve received it, please try logging in again using those credentials.

 

Let me know if this helps!

Helen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Circlerosse
New Member
2 0 0

I just paid for my site and was setting it up and realized it was active. I closed it not realizing I could not get back to my store that I just paid for.

How to I get my store back on line so I can continue to set up?

Helen
Shopify Staff
1391 169 230

No problem, @Circlerosse! I can see how that could happen. To re-open your store, please login as usual, at which time you’ll be prompted to choose your subscription plan again. Once you do, your store will reactivate. 

 

Please note, your Shopify subscription charge is issued every 30 days. So, since you’ve already paid for yours, you won’t be charged again until your next billing date when re-choosing a plan, even though you’ve closed your store in the meantime.

 

It sounds like what you were intending to do was put a password page on your store. This will allow you to work on building it, but not have it viewable to the public. To enable a password page on your storefront, please go to ‘Online Store > Preferences’ from your Shopify admin, and scroll down to the Password protection section. These steps are also found in the Help Doc for Password protection for your online store.

 

Hope this helps! Let me know if you have any difficulties with any of it. Before you accidentally closed your store, how was your set up coming along?

Helen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Vals
New Member
2 0 0

My store close but not letting me reopen help me please they keep saying my payment on hold 

Helen
Shopify Staff
1391 169 230

Hey, @Vals. Sorry to hear you are having trouble with this! Could you tell me more about what happens when you try to re-open your store? Do you receive any error messages when trying to login and choose a plan?

 

Have you received any emails regarding your payouts on hold? Generally, if payouts are on hold it’s due to a standard review of your Shopify Payments account. However, this usually does not affect the status of your account, your storefront, or the ability of your customers to continue to make purchases. 

 

Therefore, please look through your email inbox (in your spam, and junk folder as well) to see if you have received any correspondence about this. If you find it, and continue to have further questions after reviewing the details, please reply directly back to that email. This will put you in touch with the Support Specialist who is familiar with your situation, so they’ll be the best ones to provide further assistance. 

 

Let me know what you find!

 

Helen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog