Solved

Is this email from a Shopify SWA Member legitimate?

taremarket
Shopify Partner
1 0 2

I received this email and the language seems suspicious - is this a scam? 

 

Dear Merchant

Hello, we hope this message finds you well. My name is Suliat, I am a Shopify SWA Member. I have been assigned the task of conducting a tracking analysis on our merchant stores to identify their sales performance and conversion rates. Upon analyzing your store data, We have identified some errors that may have occurred during the setup process.

It seems that these errors may have been a result of either setting up the store yourself or hiring someone without sufficient knowledge of our website's setup process. We are reaching out to you to address these issues and make the necessary adjustments as soon as possible.

Based on our store tracker analysis, we have discovered that these setup errors are preventing your store from being live on various media platforms that we partner with, such as Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Ali Express, Jiji, and Shop More. This is hindering your ability to acquire potential customers who are interested in the products you sell.

We are here to provide you with guidance and assistance in redesigning and making the necessary adjustments to your store. We kindly request your immediate response to this message. Failure to take action and consider this message may result in deranking of your store, and any conversions you have made will be permanently lost. There will be no opportunity to regain your store.

Please treat this matter with the urgency it deserves. We are committed to helping you succeed with your Shopify store and look forward to working together to resolve these issues.

Thank you,

Shopify Held Authority
Co-funder of Shopify:Daniel Weinand
Assigned Agent: Suliat

Accepted Solution (1)

TyW
Community Manager
451 64 1211

This is an accepted solution.

Hi @taremarket & @longruncoffee 

This is spammer. 

If you are ever unsure about a email related to their store and would like confirmation, did Shopify send this, or was it a spammer/scammer do not hesitate to contact our support team via help.shopify.com who can verify an emails legitimacy. 

Thanks! 

TyW | Online Community Manager @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

View solution in original post

Replies 5 (5)

longruncoffee
Shopify Partner
2 0 1

I got the same thing, seems like that means yes. 

TyW
Community Manager
451 64 1211

This is an accepted solution.

Hi @taremarket & @longruncoffee 

This is spammer. 

If you are ever unsure about a email related to their store and would like confirmation, did Shopify send this, or was it a spammer/scammer do not hesitate to contact our support team via help.shopify.com who can verify an emails legitimacy. 

Thanks! 

TyW | Online Community Manager @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

KC897
New Member
4 0 0

I was so happy to find this post.  I received this exact email, although a different 'Agent' name.  It really unsettled me but I saw that it was from a Gmail account, not a Shopify so I questioned.  I had difficulty trying to get to where I needed to on the Shopify help site to report it.   I kept getting a Chatbot that couldn't help me.  At least I know I can ignore this unsettling message.  Thanks for posting!

joshuaboileau
Visitor
1 0 0

We just got the same thing:


Emailsarahremywilliam@gmail.com

SignedShopify Authority, Co-founder: Daniel Weinand

On behalf of: Clara, Assigned Shopify Support Team

 

 Spam Email.png

Ollie
Shopify Staff
2394 454 402

Hey @joshuaboileau.

 

Thanks for reaching out. 

 

I appreciate that you have provided us with a screenshot of the email that you have received. If the sender's email address does not end in the official @Shopify.com - it is most likely a phishing attempt. Could you forward this email to our Trust and Safety team to review the phishing attempt? You can forward the email directly to Safety@Shopify.com and we can look to put a stop to the phishing campaign. 

 

Let us know if you have any questions. 

 

Ollie | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog