Merge Customers

makers18
Excursionist
16 0 111

Has there been any updates or progress on the ability to MERGE CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS that are duplicates?  We have a ton and we basically began online sales in early March.  This is really needed to keep up with past orders and preferences.  We also offer rewards for our repeat customers and this system has really made tracking sales difficult.  

Replies 172 (172)
Kevin_Hartman
Tourist
7 0 22

Sadly this has never been a feature.  I have been requesting this for 11 years now, so dont get your hopes up.  Techs will enlighten you to the joys of exporting an excel file to alter on your own and then delete all your customer info and reupload the fixed excel file.... yeah like I would ever risk doing something that stupid and then again when it's time to clean up once more... no thanks. 

Rich_Hamilton
Excursionist
19 0 87

I have talked to a independent developer who is going to try and create a custom app to address this...it remains to be seen if that will come to fruition or not though. I feel pretty confident Shopify will do nothing about it. Pretty disappointing really.

makers18
Excursionist
16 0 111
Oh wow. That is horrible. I don’t understand why it isn’t a basic feature.
makers18
Excursionist
16 0 111
Not a word unfortunately.
makers18
Excursionist
16 0 111
Agree. It is really something that should be a basic function. Even if we had to do it manually, I wouldn’t mind.
george_d
Tourist
6 0 9
I would love to hear the result of that conversation. I would happily buy that extension. It’s ridiculous that we don’t have that feature directly from Shopify. I have requested it a few times from techs and supervisors.
Just one of the reasons I wish I would have gone with a different platform years ago.

LaFlamencadeBgn
Tourist
3 0 1

I need this function too.

mnearents
Excursionist
39 3 18

This is a feature Shopify desperately needs. The biggest reason for us: