I would like to take this opportunity to provide Shopify with some feedback if I may. I hope I'm posting this in the right area. May the moderators please spare this humble peasants soul (a.k.a "Shopify's paying customer") if I posted this in the wrong area.
I would like to take this opportunity to express both my frustration & disappointment with the Shopify platform & the Shopify experience. It's not a user-friendly interface & the cart looks atrocious. But most importantly, the lack of support is unbelievable! Online forums? Are you kidding me?! I can only hope that I haven't found the toll-free Customer Service contact phone number, and that the mistake is mine.
I really do hope I'm in the wrong here, because anytime I need support for my website I'm reduced to these aggravating online forums. And I can only pray that some "expert" can (and will) answer my question. And heaven forbid if nobody answers my questions. Well....I guess I'm SOL, eh? I'll just watch the days turns to months before I have an issue resolved. That's a great return on my investment (losing time, which we all know equates to money $$$).
I now appreciate why Shopify doesn't issue any form of refund(s). They know that once you're signed on, you're locked in.
I am disgusted by how you treat your paying customers. Admittedly, I agreed to using your platform, with the understanding that you would not issue me any form of refund(s) if I was dissatisfied. I trusted you. Mistake #1. After you received your full payment, I received subpar "Customer Service". And I'll be completely honest here; it is completely unacceptable. Mistake #2.
As a now, early-retired gentleman who worked approximately 25 years for various Fortune 500 North American conglomerates in various call centres (based here in Ontario, Canada), I can honestly say that if I treated my bosses customers the way you have treated me (a paying customer), I would have been fired in a New York minute.
I've worked as Tech Support, Customer Service & I was promoted to Call Centre Manger. In my years providing Customer Service to my bosses clients, no matter the company I worked for (whether it was Bell Mobility, Shaw Direct, Motorola, IBM Canada, HP Canada, etc.) there was one consistent rule that always proved to be true. And here it is :
If you don't learn to take care of your customer(s), someone else will.
I will swallow my pride & lose my COSTLY investment of three years. And while that may not mean much to you billionaires, to a struggling middle-class Canadian such as myself, it makes a big difference. Sucks to be me right now, as I am now faced with recreating my website on my previous platform (Wix.com). The ONLY reason I chose Shopify was for your eCommerce platform & your supposed "award winning" Customer Service.
My next step(s) will be to contact you via e-mail & my credit card company, to ensure no more further charges will be made. Then I will be filing a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau.
Goodbye, and good riddance.
I absolutely agree. Their live chat is awful, their customer support is awful, the concept of “Shopify Experts” is awful, this forum is more or less useless, everything about Shopify is awful. Minimal updates, the free themes are crap, the paid themes are too expensive, “Shopify Plus” costs a lung every month, everything about Shopify screams I’m going to lose money.
I decided to contact a lawyer today about filing a Class Action Lawsuit against them. I can guarantee you that there are hundreds (if not thousands) of upset customers who are not receiving the product and/or service(s) they paid for.
I have attempted to reach out to them for the past two months, but the online forum is plagued with technical issues. I was shocked that this post (my original post) was even published. It took me over an hour of attempting to post this message. Error after error, after bloody error!!!!!
I'm not dropping this. Even if I have to lose more money during this entire debacle, I'm not dropping it. Totally unacceptable. I'll have to wait and see what the lawyers say.
@SquirmDotCa I agree! Shopify is a sh*thouse of a company. I often get minimal help from their live chat. Most of the time I fix my problems before they even reply back.
Shopify is a criminal organization at this point. Customer service is egregious and clearly used to divert any and all payment/cancellation inquiries. Class action lawsuit inbound.
Their chat suppot knows less than I do about how to do stuff on Shopify. They look up thei answers, then send you a screenshot of what you could have looked up yourself. Then, after an hour of wasted time they say "I'll have an expert look into this and email you". OMG it's so terrible!!!
This is exactly what has been happening to us. We are having issues with the amount of tax being collected and they keep issuing refunds to our customers. Hours online chatting with people who promise to pass it on to “tax experts”. No one responds. Such a waste of time that could/should be devoted to our business.
Sadly the live chat has been totally useless. I have yet to receive any sign of life from the other side. Are they bots? Updates to their codes keeps corrupting my checkout and shutting me down 😞
@CornerstoneMeat they're not BOTs but some of them definitely act like BOTs
"Not sure what your question even is 😕"
That's because I wasn't posting a question. I was providing feedback. That was (literally) stated in the Subject field.
"Shopify support can't do everything for you,". I wouldn't dare dream of having such ludicrous goals of them doing "everything" for me.
How about one thing though? How about a support system that doesn't generate a multitude of system errors, preventing the end user from even posting about their problem online?
Let's start there.
Shopify support was incredible in 2018- 2021. The folks answering the phones were great! Now there's no phone calls and chat isnt as good... but on top of that the chat support doesnt know the platform. I went from telling everybody to use shopify, now I woudnt tell anyody to do that unless they were very tech savy going into it.
I sincerely appreciate you reaching out to share your feedback and your experience with our platform. I am sorry to hear that it has not been up to the standard we expect all merchants to have when interacting with our support team. We strive to always provide world class service.
You noted in your post that you have received some very poor service recently and it sounds like you had some troubles getting connected with our live support channels as well. I want to hopefully help with both of those things.
Do you have an open ticket or a recent ticket that you can share with me here? While I am not able to actively investigate merchant accounts, I do have the ability to flag a ticket with our support leads to review and assist when needed. If you can please share any ticket numbers you have that need to be reviewed, I can share that with the appropriate team.
If you want to share some of your issues or concerns that you are trying to get resolved here in the community forums, I am happy to look into that and ensure you get the best next steps for a solution as well.
All our merchants should always have access to our authenticated and live support channels. That includes email, live chat, and the ability to schedule a call back (so long as the wait times aren't too high). We don't have a direct phone support number anymore and all live support requests need to be initiated through our Help Center.
You can see in the screenshot below where to find the option to contact our support, and the "Contact Support > 1. Login" step should show to let you know that you are in the contact support workflow as well. There are 4 steps in total.
Once you login to your store account you will want to follow the prompts to choose the topic/issue you need support with. If you need help with billing then you would choose "Accounts > Billing" from the available options provided. Choose the topic closest to your issues so that the appropriate support options can be made available. On the final step (Step 4) you will be provided a list of related Help Center documents as well as all available live support options at the bottom of the page.
If for any reason you are still having issues getting connected with our authenticated support team, please reply back to your most recent billing email or email from Shopify directly to initiate an email ticket. This will ensure you are connected with our team for further troubleshooting.
Please let me know how I can help further.
I have followed these steps numerous times. More than half of the time, your website generates error messages, preventing me from reaching out to anyone for help.
How can I post my problem when the site acts so erratically? It took me over an hour on your website to get the information to submit!
It would almost appear that it's a server issue because all my fields were filled out correctly. I did not change anything when attempting to submit my post, yet at different times it would generate different errors arch as : incorrect HTML formatting, missing information, etc.
Several attempts later, same information provided (nothing changed!) and I was lucky enough to have it go through.
Thank you for that additional information!
The HTML error is usually caused when you have originally typed out the message in an alternate word processor and copied it over or there is a broken HTML tag when using italics/bold/underline etc.
You can check the HTML formatting of your messages by using this HTML function in the expanded toolbar on the forums here:
If you are able to share some screenshots of the error messages that would definitely help me to troubleshoot this with you.
Are you seeing similar errors when trying to contact our live support through the Help Center? If yes, can you please let me know what internet browser you are using, what version it is, and what operating system you are using? Do the issues persist in incognito mode in your browser or on your mobile device?
It is absolutely not great to feel like you are not able to get the support you need when you need it! I want to ensure that we get you successfully connected 100% of the time.
I wish I could say my Shopify experience was positive, but it was just awful. Beginning to end.
I signed up for a 3 year term with Shopify, which expires on June 15/2025. I've only recouped 44.60899176% (net) of my investment in Shopify's 3 year term.
My Domain Registrar contacted me to renew my domain (Squirm.ca), but my experience with Shopify has been so awful that I've decided not to renew my domain name, close up shop for good & absorb the loss.
I do intend on letting my customers know why I'm closing up shop (because of my dissatisfaction with Shopify). I just hope that they don't take down my page for expressing my honest opinion of their "support". I'm saddened to close up shop, as I've been doing it since 2006. But this level of support has been a nightmare. 👎
I know! They are hiring people who while very polite don't know the platfor well. In addition chat isnt the best way to communicate about your technical issues... the phone was really great... especially with the incredible support they had in 2018-2021. Garbage now.
No, Squirmdotca is correct and you are about to lose another customer as well.
Your support is garbage. Wasted 30 minutes of my time - of the hour allotted to me - just to find out that the theme you display , CRAFT THEME, is incapable of having the home page look like the home page that is the sample store. Can't do it. Yet you display it as though it can be set up that way. So why have the sample theme there and then waste days of my time - and my expert designers time - to boot. To navigate through those pages only to not get the support is rediculous at best. Big Commerce I call and they actually pick up. And they know their themes. Rally bad into to Shopify and such a waste of my time.
To be super super specific we spent days attempting to create the 5 photo collage that is on the home page of the sample store of the CRAFT THEME. Can't do it. Told by shopify to add another collage to the space but - that does not work. Trying to recreate the 5 photos and the layout. Shopify then says what we want to do is too "extreme" for the Theme. ?? Even my design expert even tried to modify the code. But there is no room to modify it. Craft also has a video on the home page...? So you have a Theme, that non-one at shopify understands, and is unable to present itself as it is displayed in your sample store for that Theme. And to get someone in a chat, or any other way, that is able to communicate without it taking 5 minutes for each sentence...is impossible and beyond frustrating and an incredible waste, waste, waste of time.
Can you help Escalade my case also? I am tired of waiting for no help!!! I pay monthly for a subscription and I expect SOMEBODY to help when I need it, been running circles for 2 Months and I’m sick and tired of it my ticket number is 41341018.
I am about to drop your service after only a few days with Shopify. In the countless discussions with your Support Advisors has been absolutely horrible. Advisors not even understanding what i was requesting and giving me solutions that left me wondering how they are an employee. All of the advisors have chatted with, did not help me at all. Some of their suggestions where not even close to what I said and would have created serious consequences. For example this quote from an advisor would have closed me down "07:35 Ark (Support Advisor): May we know if you wanted to remove all the design from your website ?" WHAT??? This isn't what I requested and I showed him a screen shoot of my request was about a line running through each page.
Now I can't "Transfer Store Ownership" from the Admin Panel (Settings/Users and Permissions)
Ticket Number 42692541. It has an escalated status. I have wasted so much time and now I have had enough of your BS. You keep telling me to be patient. I have run out of patience I need to move on from a company who lacks customer service. I have only been with you guys a few days and have wasted my time (money). I like the platform but your service sucks. You got 24 hours to fix my issue before I close my store. I WOULD NEVER EVER RECOMMEND YOUR SERVICE!
Shopify Customer Service and Safety Team is so stupid and ridiculous. !!
They stop my store but still charging me, and insist cannot help with refund
The safety team banned my store without letting me know what is going on.
The email response is always just template.
The unprofessional one in Safety Team called Raoul
Suddenly, I'm not able to receive the 2FA verification from Shopify, so i can not login my account. My phone is ok. I tried to contact them 3 times in live chat, and still don't know when they support me to login. They say just wait the team response. It was 3 days until now. Really tired about it
Thank you for sharing your experience here. I understand you are waiting for our account integrity team to assist you with regaining access to your account.
Do you have your recovery codes available? If yes, you can use one of those to regain account access. I also recommend setting up 2FA using an authenticator app on your mobile phone as well.
Our standard support does not have the ability to disable security features for your account. This is to ensure your sensitive data and your store are kept safe. Our account team will be happy to resolve this for you, but as this is a long weekend (in North America) the processing time for a request like this might take a bit longer.
I totally agree. The chat support is so bad that I am in shock that any company can give such bad service and continue. We are moving out of shopify as soon as possible. Just hired a developer to move us out. After spending thousands of dollars creating a shopify store and customizing it now we have to move as shopify has let us down so badly. Feel cheated.
Cannot wait to get the new site and move on without the terrible shopify support.
Awww man. I have been having issues with Shopify the last 2 months!!! Not being able to get my payouts and nobody trying to assist me so I can get my payouts but of course they are collecting their money from me! Customer service is terrible! Going over to a network I know works from now on because besides wasted money and time I can govern get the money sitting in my store so I can buy more products. I am very angry. They can make sure they get their money every month but when a customer needs assistance it’s literally nobody there to assist and help.
Unfortunately in an effort to serve you better, most of support is probably going to get fired in favour of AI chatbots. Don't bother emailing or chatting in to complain - you're only complaining to people whose jobs are already in jeopardy. They have no ability to forward your complaints on to the people who are currently threatening their livelihood. Those might be the people to explain your difficulties to instead.
I am guessing that folks are omplaining here in the hopes that the top brass at shopify will understand that the model they had in 2018-2020 lead to happy clients who would refer friends to shopify, and that the new CHAT only model isnt good. The poor folks helping us on chat are doing their best but obviously shopify hasnt given them the same tools and/or training as was given to te phone support of 2018 and 2019 and even 2020. Theres only been 1 in 20 this past year that bitzed through my chatted issue/ problem, sent me the needed pictures to follow along with, and problem was solved. The rest were escalated after an hour of back and forth pictures and links...that I'd already read.... and I never got a resolution.
I am wondering though, could it be that all of shopify users should hire a shopify expert that we can call on (an pay0 when we need help? It might be a good solution because the shopify platform has been absolutely flawless in execution and customer experience, and cool free apps. Julie
I am wondering, could it be that all of us shopify users should hire a shopify expert that we can call on (and pay) when we need help? It might be a good solution because the shopify platform has been absolutely flawless in execution and customer experience, and I don't want to leave it.
Maybe so! Incidentally there are many Shopify Experts out there who provide exactly those kinds of services. Including myself, although I don't take phone calls at this time 😉
On our Shopify Expert Marketplace, you can find many trusted third party developers and fr...By Arno Nov 27, 2023
You've downloaded the Search & Discovery app from the Shopify App store, and as you're ...By Skye Nov 8, 2023