I opened up my bank account only to be shocked by a payment from Shopify for the monthly subscription. I completely forgot that i had a trial store with a selected plan that i did not close. I did not want to continue with the store i forgot to close it. How do i get a refund as i want to close the store and did not have the money to pay for this.
Hi there @fahadalsubaie, thanks for reaching out here.
In order for payments to stop completely, you must elect to close your store. You will receive no further bills from Shopify after closing your store provided there are no outstanding charges. The process for closing the store can only be done by the store owner, and the steps are as follows:
If you choose to re-open your store within 30 days of closing it, then Shopify guarantees that all of your store's data and configuration information will be preserved. Shopify can't guarantee that any data will be preserved more than 30 days after closing your store. You can find a handy step-by-step video here.
If you have any third-party apps that have your payment information outside of Shopify, then cancel your service with those apps to avoid being billed externally after you close your store.
Another option you may consider is Pausing your store - you can choose to fully pause your store for up to 12 weeks free of charge, after which you will be automatically transferred to our pause and build plan for a cost of $9 monthly. You can read full details of our pause plans here.
Regarding a refund of your fees: You can reach out to our live support team here and request a refund if you wish. Generally speaking a refund is only possible of the most recent invoice upon store closure, a decision on any invoices going back further than 30 days may not be possible and the final decision on this will be left with our billing team, I do just want to prepare you that it may not be possible in this case.
I hope this helps, all the bets going forward.