Solved

Regarding fraud website who are using your mail id

Apurva11
Tourist
6 0 1

Hello,

I saw ad on Instagram from home_decore_ which was sponsored. It's on Instagram so I trusted I Ordered. After my payment is done they send me mail like the below:

Alpha_home_decorets ORDER #1405
Thank you for your purchase!
We're getting your order ready to be shipped. We will notify you when it has been sent.


Email address shows as
merlek7sta@hotmail.com via shopifyemail.com

 

They are not replying to me back. I am sure it is fake. But somehow it's via shopifyemail.com I thought I mailed you hoping I will get back my money back.

Please do something to get my money back. They are using your email id.

Accepted Solution (1)

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 89 147

This is an accepted solution.

Hi @Apurva11 

 

Thank you for reaching out here, and welcome to the Shopify Community.

 

I understand that you have placed an order on a store you believe is using Shopify, and have some concerns about the email you received being fraudulent. I would be happy to help clarify this situation.

 

I can understand why you might be concerned about the 'via shopifyemail.com' part, however that is generally normal behavior and is not an indication of fraudulent activity. 

 

May I ask how long it has been since you placed the order on the store? We would always recommend trying your best to contact the store. You can actually reply directly to that order confirmation email that you received, and the store will receive it. That is usually the easiest way to contact the store to inquire about your order but you can feel free to use other methods such as a contact us page or their social media pages. We have some great information on the various ways you can contact a store here.

 

I can see that you may have already tried to contact them but they are not replying back just yet. It may take the store a little bit of time to get around to sending you a reply. In the meantime, it's possible that your order may arrive.

 

If your order doesn't arrive within 30 days and you do not hear anything back from the store, then I would suggest contacting your bank/payment provider to inquire about the next steps available to you. You can also then submit a buyer complaint against the store using this link here

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



View solution in original post

Replies 30 (30)

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 89 147

This is an accepted solution.

Hi @Apurva11 

 

Thank you for reaching out here, and welcome to the Shopify Community.

 

I understand that you have placed an order on a store you believe is using Shopify, and have some concerns about the email you received being fraudulent. I would be happy to help clarify this situation.

 

I can understand why you might be concerned about the 'via shopifyemail.com' part, however that is generally normal behavior and is not an indication of fraudulent activity. 

 

May I ask how long it has been since you placed the order on the store? We would always recommend trying your best to contact the store. You can actually reply directly to that order confirmation email that you received, and the store will receive it. That is usually the easiest way to contact the store to inquire about your order but you can feel free to use other methods such as a contact us page or their social media pages. We have some great information on the various ways you can contact a store here.

 

I can see that you may have already tried to contact them but they are not replying back just yet. It may take the store a little bit of time to get around to sending you a reply. In the meantime, it's possible that your order may arrive.

 

If your order doesn't arrive within 30 days and you do not hear anything back from the store, then I would suggest contacting your bank/payment provider to inquire about the next steps available to you. You can also then submit a buyer complaint against the store using this link here

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



Apurva11
Tourist
6 0 1
Hello,
I would like to discuss with you over the phone. Can you call me? It's
really urgent and important.
Rick
Shopify Staff
946 89 147

Hi @Apurva11 

 

Thanks for reaching back out.

 

I am unable to provide phone support here in our Shopify Community. However, you can use our Help Center to contact our support team directly. If you do not see the 'schedule a callback' option listed, then you will need to select either Live Chat or Email in order to speak to one of our advisors.

 

Also please be advised, Shopify is the platform that offers the technology for merchants to set up their own stores, but each store operates independently and we have no direct involvement in the running of each store. This means that we do not manage individual stores and so we are unable to provide you with any information relating to your order. We can of course provide advice on how to proceed and the best ways to receive assistance.

 

As I mentioned above, contacting the store first and then allowing them some time to reply or deliver your order will be the best solution. May I ask how long it has been since you placed this order?

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



Apurva11
Tourist
6 0 1

I am unable to submit a buyer complaint against the store using this link here

I entered all data after selecting submit button page is just refreshing nothing else. 

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 89 147

Hi @Apurva11 

 

Thanks for letting me know.

 

That is an interesting issue - so the page itself is refreshing after submitting the form?

 

Can you let me know what option you are selecting from the 'What are you reporting?' drop down menu, and if you are entering in all of the required information before clicking submit?

 

Generally the 'Non-delivery of goods' is the appropriate option for this. When selecting this option, you will need your order confirmation URL in order to continue. As mentioned in my previous replies, you will also need to wait at least 30 days before being able to submit this form.

 

If you are still having issues when trying to submit this form, then I would recommend clearing your browser cache & cookies and trying again. You could also try using a different device or web browser entirely. You can also consider contacting our support team directly to submit a report to us by using this email link here.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



Apurva11
Tourist
6 0 1
Hello Rick,
What are you doing? These fraudsters are doing the same fraud from Facebook
ads now. How shameful they are. They have no guilt, no regret.

I am attaching some pictures. Also, check the links below.

https://soppersstop.myshopify.com/collections/home-decor

https://shahisajavat.com/collections/home-decor?fbclid=IwAR3uIBaIyrt3-BvauyvYQsdBv1DfH-1puX_LiXWZ3jY...



Now their names are:


- Store Wala
- Home Decora
- Do Man

Most imp they are saying "We use Shopify to power our online store"

Using © 2023, shahisajavat <> Powered by Shopify
<>

What are you doing?????😠 They are using your name for fraud and you are
doing nothing to stop them.
AmritB
Visitor
1 0 2

Same happened with me too.

 

Hello,

On Friday 04/02/2023,  I  ordered from below link
After my payment is done they send me mail like the below:
wonderfull_home_decor ORDER #1106
Thank you for your purchase!
We're getting your order ready to be shipped. We will notify you when it has been sent.
Email address shows as
wonderfull_home_decor merlek7sta@hotmail.com via shopifyemail.com
I sent an email to them. They are not replying to me back. I am sure it is fake. But somehow it's via shopifyemail.com I thought I mailed you hoping I will get back my money back.

Kindly do something to get my money back. They are using your email id.
Today I saw the another URL on which they are selling same products. So definitely this is fake website.

YamilyO
Visitor
2 0 0

I did an order on February 28 2024 and I dint get my order completed and I pay over 700

ifra901
Visitor
3 0 0

Hi Rick 

I have had the same thing and the store is called The Fashionista the links do not work however we’re a couple days ago and now the shop is not available it has been more than 30days and there is no tracking number is this fraud ???

YamilyO
Visitor
2 0 0
That’s what im wondering 🤔

ravirex
Tourist
5 0 2

Hi Apurva,

 

Did you either receive the item or the refund? I have been seeing similar ads on Instagram and trying to verify the authenticity. 

Apurva11
Tourist
6 0 1
Hello,

I didn't get anything. I am sure they are fraud and they are using your
policies and your email address.
Also saying "Store powered by Shopify". As I know Shopify is also. You
couldn't support frauderer so I complain you.

PFA's for better understanding their strategies.


Rick
Shopify Staff
946 89 147

Hi @Apurva11 

 

Thanks for getting back.

 

I understand your concerns and I am sorry to hear that you have still not received your order.

 

Feel free to share with me the date that the order was placed, and also the store URL so that I can do my best to find available contact methods and point you in the right direction to receive help.

 

If more than 30 days have passed, then I would recommend reaching out to your bank or payment provider directly to inquire about any possible refund options available to you. Many banks have security measures in place to protect their cardholders, however they often require at least 30 days to have passed before they can help, so you should contact them for clarity on this.

 

If you believe this store is acting fraudulently and you wish to report the store to us, then you can do so by using this email link here. Please include as much information as possible, including any evidence you may have. We take it very seriously when stores on Shopify do not adhere to our terms of service, and our team constantly reviews stores. Reports can help speed up the process of removing merchants who take advantage of our services, however due to the private nature of these matters we cannot keep you updated on the outcome of any investigations or verify whether the respective stores are actually using Shopify or not. 

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



ravirex
Tourist
5 0 2

Hi Rick,

 

It's Ravi, the shopping website address is:

https://kasturihomedecor.com/

 

Now the website is not accessible as it shows an error. Can you please help a handful genuine customer with a way to either get the item or the refund?

 

Thanks! 

ravirex
Tourist
5 0 2

Hey Rick, two orders were placed on January 29. Order #1155 and Order #1153. Let me know if you need any additional information regarding the orders. 

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 89 147

Hi @ravirex 

 

Thanks for reaching out and joining here - welcome to the Shopify Community.

 

From what you have described, you have placed two orders with this website two days ago on the 29th January. This is still very recent, so I would recommend trying to contact the store and giving them some time to contact you or deliver your order. If you received an 'order confirmation' email then replying to that is an easy way to get in touch with the store.

 

Thanks for providing your order numbers and for offering to provide more information about the orders. While I would love to be able to look into this for you - we have no access to any of your order information. Only the store themselves can see your order, and it is their responsibility as the seller to communicate with you and fulfill your order. 

 

Thank you for providing the link to the store - I too am unable to access it. This could mean they are experiencing some technical issues, or the store may have been removed. I cannot say for sure as I am unable to access any information relating to the store, or even confirm if they are using Shopify or not.

 

I should also point out that we cannot get your money back. Shopify does not have access to any transaction money, and we are not in a position to be able to process any refunds on a store's behalf. We would recommend waiting 30 days to see if your order arrives - if you have not received it, then contacting your bank as explained in my previous replies will be the best next step. They can discuss any options for a refund with you.

 

Thanks @MandyTh for also replying here. If you believe the store that you linked is using Shopify and may not be following our strict terms of service, then you can report the store to us by using this email link here.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



MandyTh
Tourist
5 0 2

Hello Rick 

 

order number is #1203

Dilip13
Tourist
3 0 3

Hi Rick,

 

They are continuously committing fraud from your platform. The new site is https://www.artificialhomedecor.in/. The order number is 1223. Why don't you block this email merlek7sta@hotmail.com or initiate a refund for all the members? We can at least expect this from a platform like Shopify. 

 

Thanks,

Dilip13
Tourist
3 0 3

Just an update. I got my money back today. However, I am not sure How did that happen? I paid with Paytm and escalated the issue with them and the Bank too. So maybe it's them who reverted the transaction. 

Apurva11
Tourist
6 0 1

Hello, @Dilip13 

In how many days have you raised your concern with Paytm or Bank?

Dilip13
Tourist
3 0 3
The very next day.
Jonnojc
Visitor
2 0 0

I think I just fell victim to this too. Instagram ad, so I thought it was safe, great deals, Shopify store called Totgal Home, but the confirmation email was chengmao2028@hotmail.com, the payment confirmation was Sp Dejin Liangpin, and then I found this thread. Sounds identical. This looks like a class action in the making if Shopify has been made aware of this scam and hasn't done anything to stop it and customers are still getting scammed in the same way.

 

Rick, my order number is #2036 and o want it cancelled immediately.

 

 

Ollie
Shopify Staff
2434 455 410

Hey @Jonnojc.

 

Thanks for reaching out on this thread. 

 

As Shopify is a platform that hosts online businesses, we do not manage or ship the orders ourselves. With that being said, it would be best to attempt to reach out to the business that you have made a purchase from as they are in the best position to provide you with further support and insight about the order. In the case that you are unable to speak with the business - I would highly suggest that you speak with your bank or credit card company about the situation. They will have additional processes aimed to retrieve your funds for the order.

 

Let us know if you have any questions. 

Ollie | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Jonnojc
Visitor
2 0 0

Hi Ollie,

 

Now the website has disappeared, just like everyone else mentioned about the stores they were duped by, the seller does not respond and my bank is still investigating. No refund yet.

 

But what is Shopify's legal responsibility here? Outrageous. You host these fraudulent stores on your platform and it's constant for months now it seems based just on this thread. The scammers just start a new store and repeat the scam. You're aware of it and where is your vetting? Is Shopify making commissions from these transactions? This is very dodgy dealings. Sounds like complicity and fraud to me. Shopify is gonna end up in hot water with all of this.

MandyTh
Tourist
5 0 2

Hello Apurva11

 

I too ordered to home decor via Instagram. Facing the same issue I made the payment to them. 

Did you get any solution. 

ravirex
Tourist
5 0 2

Hi Mandy,

 

Nope, no item or any refund. It's definitely a fraud and a legit platform like Shopify gave them a place to defraud some genuine customers. 

MandyTh
Tourist
5 0 2

Hello,

 

yes it’s a fraud, they are again doing it through with new name of the website artificalhomedecor.com and has mentioned the shopify.

We can’t trust the shopify affiliated companies now. 

ravirex
Tourist
5 0 2

Hi Mandy,

 

Yes, we definitely can no longer trust Shopify.

 

Rick, you guys will not take responsibility for any of it and I am not sure how much you will help us get our money back. Please know that you are harbouring fraudsters on your platform who are taking money and closing their shops. This is definitely not good for you all, given that they are changing websites frequently, I am obliged to report such links of Shopify to all social media platforms to take appropriate actions.

 

I hope you can help us in some capacity to either get the item which is most likely not going to happen or help us get the refund. 

Sahrish
Visitor
1 0 1

Hey ,

So something same happened to rn .

Few days ago i ordered from

knockknockapparel.in .  Since i had been seeing multiple ads of it online

I ordered 2 hoodies and since the order did not get confirmed after a while i decieded to check on it a bit . Tuens out the mail they were using was

store+61578805341@t.shopifyemail.com . I soon realised tht their contact number as well as email wouldnt allow ke to contact . The site was a total scam . Many ppl in comments said tht too . Im typing this here also bevause their email had .shopifyemail.com at end which on searching lead me here . I hope someone can look into it . Also does anyone know if there is any way i can get a refund .  Also i never recieved their email back

Sri96
Visitor
1 0 0

Hi all

  I am here too to report regarding a fraud spam website- https://wowkurti.shop/?syclid=cdb5546b-4cac-4d31-b4c7-19d1886adae5.  I ordered two kurti from them in prepaid order but not received any update about my order or refund .They are just mean fellow cheating others for money.I request shopify to look over these cheating  merchants and block their  Shopify account .I received order confirmation mail(#1046) from  Shopify only.That's why I am here to bring the issue to Shopify.

 

 

 Email id from which I received  the order confirmation is: store+86484156733@t.shopifyemail.com