Resend order confirmation issue

KimM
Tourist
8 0 9

Help!

I have been running a Shopify store for a couple of years now and no issues. Occasionally I get a call from a customer who has not received an order confirmation email (usually it has gone to their spam or junk email) but I can go into their order, go to the thread in the timeline and resend the confirmation if necessary. Today a customer called querying where the order confirmation was, but I noticed in the timeline that it was never sent - I have never seen this before! I checked the email address with them, all good, but the issue is, how can I resend the confirmation? Usually there is a button in the timeline, but if the first confirmation has not been sent, you cant click that button as its not there. There is nothing in the drop down menus either.

Any suggestions?

Regards KIM

Replies 20 (20)

Kimi
Shopify Staff
1511 169 259

Hi, @KimM!

This situation can happen if the customer went through checkout, and successfully paid for their order, without inputting their email address in the process. An order confirmation sent via email from the Shopify admin would only be done if there was an email address attached to the order when in was initially placed. If an email address was added in after the order has been placed, the system won't be able to subsequently send one through. You also won't have the option to resend an email order confirmation if one was never sent through in the first place for that same order.

If the order was created through a Draft order, and the customer account had no email address added to it when the Draft order was initially created, then the same logic applies as above.