Shopify deducts money without permission.

Shopify deducts money without permission.

NOTaFAN2
Visitor
2 0 0

I am here to articulate my discontent with this unprofessional behavior of Shopify. I deactivated my account and quit my shop. Have not been active for months. Still they have deducted TWO years of subscription AND I cannot even enter the Shop!!!

 

This is ridiculous. There is no chat/no support at all. Reviewing legal actions at the moment. Please be aware.

Replies 4 (4)

Shay
Shopify Staff
3014 464 620

Hi @NOTaFAN2 

 

Thank you for reaching out about this and I am sorry to hear you have had such a hard time getting a hold of our support team for assistance. I want to make sure that happens! In these cases, if the store in question is closed but you are still seeing billing charges, this could mean that your card is being used in another store on the platform.

 

If a store is closed then all billing for Shopify invoices stops immediately. If the billing charges are continuing, that means there is another store that is open using that credit card for billing. This could be a secondary store you opened and forgot to close or someone could potentially be using your credit card without your authorization. We can definitely assist you in either of those cases. 

 

To access our live support, please follow this link: Shopify Help Center. Next, you will want to follow the on screen prompts to sign in (you can also choose to continue without signing in) and choose the  topic "Account" then "Plans and Billing". At the bottom of the help articles provided will be all available live support options. 

 

If you are not able to see that, please share a screenshot of what you are seeing so I can guide you accordingly. 

 

Once connected with our support team the information they will require to escalate this is:

 

  • The first 6 and last 4 digits of the credit card being charged.
  • A screenshot of the CC billing statement showing the Shopify billing charge invoice code. Usually looks like "SP * XXXXXXXX". This invoice code is mandatory, it will allow our billing team to look up where the charge is originating from.
  • Your first and last name on the card.
  • Your contact email address. 

Please ensure to have that available or be ready to provide it when reaching out. From there our support team will escalate this to our account and billing team for you and they will further investigate this billing concern. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

NOTaFAN2
Visitor
2 0 0

No, there has not been any other shop. Thankfully I can back it up with screenshots. Shopify simply deducted money from me without any permission and it has been acklowledged already. This is not a business I am promoting.

rcska
Visitor
1 0 0

Hi Shay same happened with me recently I only created account to explore Shopify and Autods was added only for trial account i don't have anything to sell and even then I got bill for plan which I didn't subscribed . Please help

Ollie
Shopify Staff
2500 456 416

Hey @rcska.

 

Thanks for reaching out on this thread.

 

Since we do not have any access to internal account or store-specific information from the Community forums, we are unable to view the billing information of your store. With that being said, it would be best to get into contact with our live support about this situation by navigating to the Help Center.

 

When you arrive at the Help Center, you will need to make the virtual assistant be aware that you would like to Speak with support and you will be connected with a Support Advisor accordingly.

 

Let us know if you have any questions.

 

Ollie | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog