Shopify Does NOT credit their fees on REFUNDS

srb32459
Excursionist
21 0 9

We have a tourism related business and are getting hit with cancellations due to Coronavirus.  Refunds we are giving customers do not include Shopify giving us back the fees they charge.  Apparently this change happened on March 1, 2020.  

 

Here is the tone def response from Shopify "customer service."

 

Analisa here from Shopify.

Shopify did recently change how refunds work for merchants in regards to transaction fees. On March 1, 2020 new and existing US merchants will no longer have transaction fees credited back when issuing partial or full refunds. This is why you see different amounts being paid out and refunded.

 

Please voice your displeasure to Shopify on this horrendous policy and unwillingness to change it during the Coronavirus outbreak.  

 

Bryan

 

VanessaVW
Tourist
3 0 2

Are you kidding me?!?!? They don't give back fees? That's insane! 

srb32459
Excursionist
21 0 9

Nope, Shopify keeps their 3% of everything.  As we process refund after refund for Coronavirus related cancellations Shopify keeps its cut.

Jason_Lee6
Tourist
8 0 3

This new policy is sickening. And they implemented it just in time for the Covid wave of returns.

0 Likes
ShaneHedlund
New Member
1 0 0

Their refund policy is hypocritical. Shame on Shopify, turning a blind eye on us while advocating stores to have generous return policy’s to keep our customers happy. 

Has anyone figured out a way to get around this? Is there a way to swap payment gateways with a different 3rd party or bank, and start accepting credit card payments without Shopify?

0 Likes