Shopify has gone live without my consent

SUTTONHJ01
Visitor
1 0 0

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me. I had a demo store that I was in the middle of setting up, it had not been published, and it was password protected.

 

Today I have found out that my demo store was made live, and that someone has been able to purchase a demo item. I cannot find which bank account this went into, or how my store has managed to go live without me doing anything.

 

I checked my activity log and cannot find anything out of the ordinary.

Please can someone tell me how this may have happened? I now have to refund this person, when I am not even sure what bank account they paid into, or why my demo store went live. 

I have now re-added the password again so it is restricted. 

Replies 2 (2)

Erin
Shopify Staff
970 129 154

Hi, @SUTTONHJ01. Password protection isn't removed without someone manually doing this. I'd recommend taking another look at your store activity log to review any changes made to your store. You can find the store activity log by going to Settings > Store activity log in your Shopify admin and you can find more information about the store activity log here. For the payment you received, if you are using Shopify Payments you can see which account the money was sent to by reviewing the details of that payout. The account used will be listed there. You can also learn more about viewing your payouts here. If you are using a different payment gateway, you'll want to review your settings for that account, or contact the payment gateway directly, to find more information about the bank account the payment was sent to.

 

If you need more help with this, please reach out to our support team through the Help Center so we can take a closer look at this with you.

Erin | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

alanrichardtex
Excursionist
24 1 0

Not sure how it happened automatically... but if you click on "online store" and then "preferences" and scroll down, you can re-enable it. hope that helps