Shopify have been charging me for months with NO way for me to cancel

angryshopifier
Visitor
1 0 0

I started a trial & then activated it for a month, forgetting about it.

 

The account was set up with an email address which was based on my domain name which was an active website at the time. (hi@domain.co.uk for example)

 

Since the domain expired, I have no access to the email address & have not been able to reset my password as suggested when trying to log in.

 

This means I have been getting charged for months without the ability to log in. I have told Shopify support numerous times but they will not change the email address for me & want photo ID from me which I don't have. (I don't drive & don't travel)

 

Am I supposed to just continue paying this each month with no ability to cancel it & no way to access the shopify account?

 

Shopify have taken money & given me NOTHING in return.

 

Assistance required.

 

Karl

Replies 9 (9)

Ted
Shopify Staff (Retired)
1255 115 138

Hi @angryshopifier,

Ted here from Shopify, thanks for posting your query and thank you for your feedback. 

I’m so sorry to hear that your experience with Shopify and the team so far has not met your expectations and that you would like to close the store. We do pride ourselves on being very merchant focussed and I'm sorry to hear that this has not been your own experience recently.

I believe there might be some miscommunication here; Shopify Advisors can raise ask our Account Integrity team to close a store upon request but they would need to verify that you are the account owner first to do so. We won't require an ID but we would need you to very as much of the below information as possible:  

  • The first 6 digits of the credit card on file. 
  • The last 4 digits of the credit card on file.
  • If you paid with Paypal, please confirm the email address on file. 
  • A screenshot of your Paypal or bank statement showing the most recent Shopify charge (while blocking any unrelated charges from the screenshot).

If you have a ticket number from your interactions with our team, I can take a closer look into this with you as soon as possible. Do feel free to share a ticket number or I can send you a new email and help authenticate the account.

If you would prefer a faster response from our advisors, our support is available 24/7 and you can sign in as a guest if you can no longer log into Shopify. You would just need to visit our Help Centre and click Support > Contact Support in the main menu. You can then sign in as a guest. Our Twitter and Facebook advisors are also available if you would prefer. 

Many thanks,

Ted | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Scammedbyshopif
Visitor
1 0 1

I've been consistently charged $15.99 per month by Shopify, despite never having an account or conducting any business with them. It's frustrating that there's no phone contact available to resolve this issue. This situation seems like a scam targeting hardworking individuals, potentially to boost their reported earnings in the stock market. I am deeply disappointed and upset with this unethical practice. Shame on Shopify and their business.

Ivy
Shopify Staff
1033 82 132

Hi there, @Scammedbyshopif.

I am going to hop in to reply here to help Ted out today. I am sorry to hear about your experience - It is hard to say with 100% accuracy what is going on here, so we do need to investigate this for sure.

Reaching out to our live support is definitely the best way forward here, if you have the invoice numbers ready this will be the easiest way for out internal teams to investigate this. 

In order to reach out to live support, while also bypassing the login, please go to this link. Once you have the support page open, select the option "Can't login to my account" which appears here. Then click "I still can't access my account", then scroll down on this page to select live chat support, you will then be connected to a live support agent. They can then help you out from here. Thank you.

Ivy | Social Care @ Shopify


Out Of Office

-Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



unusualbilling
Visitor
1 0 1

I also keep getting billed and it resets every few days. the bill comes out to $53 aud with no way for me to reset it. It comes off of one of the shopify apps, and I would like to cancel it as I no longer even have that shopify account. understandably $53 aud is a lot of money. 

Kimi
Shopify Staff
1511 169 260

Hi, @unusualbilling.

 

Thanks for joining this thread. I can understand how unexpected it must be to still be receiving those charges, especially if you've fully deactivated your Shopify store.

 

To confirm, the charges you're seeing on your end are coming from a third-party app that you've previously installed on your store, is that correct? If that's the case, as explained in our guide here under the Considerations before deactivating your store section, some third-party apps save your payment information and bill your store outside of Shopify. This means that even if your store has been deactivated, the third-party app may not have received this information on their end due to storing all billing information externally, which is why we recommend that all app services are fully deactivated prior to closing a store.

 

So from here, your next best step is to contact the app support team directly so that they can help investigate those charges in more detail from their end, and aid you with fully closing your account within their system. To contact the app support team, you can locate the app in our Shopify App Store here, and scroll down on the app listing page to locate the Support heading. The app team's email address should be listed there, and you can send them a message explaining your situation to them. They'll be able to further assist from there.

Kimi | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Shakoure
Visitor
1 0 0

Hello. I too was surprised to find that I have an unpaid balance of $42 for a time period in which my store was not yet doing any business. It would be nice if Shopify allowed you to sandbox your store for testing  purposes, and then bill you only when it's officially open for business. I checked my email and could not find any notification regarding payment problems. Anyway I can get that "failure to pay" charge waived?  

Kimi
Shopify Staff
1511 169 260

Hi, @Shakoure. Thanks for reaching out here about your situation.

 

I definitely understand your perspective and can see how beneficial it is for stores to be on a demo or sandbox mode, and to not be billed unless they're ready to launch. While we currently offer both a free and discounted trial periods, this is limited to a set amount of time — so for stores who have chosen a paid plan at any point during their trial, the system will then automatically bill them for their chosen subscription plan once their trial concludes. 

 

If you'd like us to take a closer look at your store's bill, please connect with one of our live support team members so that we can securely access your account to investigate this further. We won't be able to conduct any account-specific investigations like these via the Community Forums, due to security reasons. So from here, you can navigate to our Help Center via this link, type contact support in the chat box, and the virtual chat assistant will guide you on how you can connect with a live support team member. We'll be able to provide further assistance on this matter from there.

Kimi | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Shopscamedme
Visitor
1 0 1

The same thing happened to me and i really want to sue shopify

 

LindsayEnnis172
Visitor
1 0 0

I just said the same thing. I am being charged monthly for years literally. I cant speak to anyone, cant reply to email. have no invoice. I keep disputing the charges on my credit card. 0/5 stars for Shopify. Horrible customer service