Shopify is asking me to pay 5000₹

Siddiq6541
Visitor
1 0 4

I signed up with this account on Shopify in India, and it gave me a free trial for 3 days. But in order to change some settings, I have to get the plan which is 20₹ for 3 each months. So I confirm the billing process that for 3 months I will be charged 20₹ and later the main plan. But when I go to the payment process of UPI, It shows 5000₹ to pay. What's the use of the 20₹ offer when I have to pay 5000₹ let alone 400₹ per month? Thanks for reading.

Replies 28 (28)

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @Siddiq6541 

 

Thanks for reaching out here, and welcome to the Shopify Community.

 

That certainly doesn't sound ideal that you are experiencing issues with the billing on your Shopify store. 

 

The ₹20 offer that you mentioned sounds like it might be the promotional free trial extension that you can avail of after your 3 day free trial is up. Can you confirm what plan you are selecting, and whether or not you have tried to change the billing cycle to annual instead of monthly? Is it possible that the amount you are seeing is the total cost of your annual subscription, and not the ₹20 single month promotional price? I would recommend heading to the Settings > Billing section of your store, and taking a closer look at your bill there to see further information about the charge.

 

If the promotional price is available to you and you have selected a Shopify plan and monthly billing, then you should really only be seeing an initial charge for ₹20 for your first month. If you are not seeing the promotional price in your Shopify admin and you believe you should be, then I would recommend contacting our support team for assistance. We can help you understand the pricing and billing process and ensure that you are being charged the correct amount. You can reach out to our team through our Shopify Help Center here.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



KAbhishek
Visitor
1 0 0

Hey Rick, I am facing the same issue. Below the message -

 

"You will be redirected to Razorpay to finish authentication and may be requested for a one-time mandate for ₹15,000. This will allow Shopify to automatically charge future bills below the mandate amount."

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @KAbhishek 

 

Thanks for reaching out here.

 

When you add a card through Razorpay, a mandate needs to be established (of which the limit is 15,000 INR). This mandate represents an agreement allowing Shopify to charge your card. I believe that is what you are seeing with this notification from Razorpay.

 

After the mandate is successfully established, a ₹1 INR authorization charge is applied to your card, and you will see this on your bank statement, however we will automatically refund the charge (this should be instantaneous, but there could be slight delays).

 

If you have any questions or concerns about your Shopify billing, then I would suggest contacting our support team directly so that we can take a closer look and help to clarify the situation. You can reach our team via the help center here.
 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



DHRUV_KUMAR
Visitor
1 0 2

Hey Rick I'm facing the same issue. When I choose the starter plan for 20₹ for 3months i proceed to pay from UPI the request is of the amount ₹5000 instead of 20 please can you help me out.

Screenshot_2023-07-12-22-04-33-98_4336b74596784d9a2aa81f87c2016f50.jpg

vb_creations
Visitor
1 0 0

can someone please help with this, I am also facing the same issue.

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @DHRUV_KUMAR and @vb_creations 

 

Thank you both for joining in and reaching out here for help. You are very welcome to the Shopify Community.

 

I understand that you are both seeing an issue where the charge seems a lot higher than what you are expecting, according to your plan.

 

Can you both confirm if UPI is being used? When you first sign up for UPI, you will be asked to authorize a maximum charge amount of 5,000 INR, but you will only be charged the amount on your invoice. This step is essentially confirming that automatic payments through UPI can be up to 5,000 INR.

 

We have some more information about account billing for India here on our help center that I would recommend checking out. However, if you have any doubts about this process and would prefer to speak to our support team first, please do so via our help center here, so we can take a closer look at your account.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



Avesh14
Visitor
1 0 1

can you give us a simple guide that how this will happen i mean if we allow 5000 of autopay than our 5000 will withdraw from our account and we will not get back till 2033 am i right?

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @Avesh14 

 

Thanks for joining in here - welcome to the Shopify Community. Apologies for the delay in replying.

 

The 5,000 INR UPI charge you are seeing is most likely the authorization charge - not an actual charge. As explained previously when signing up to UPI you will be asked to authorize a maximum charge - this amount is 5,000 INR. You are not charged this maximum amount, you are simply authorizing that as a max possible charge. You will only be charged the amount on your Shopify invoice. 

 

I am not fully sure I understand what you mean when you say you won't get an amount back until 2033 - please feel free to share some more context this and perhaps link me to where you saw this information, so that I can take a closer look and do my best to advise on that.

 

If you have concerns about this process, I would encourage you to contact our support team directly via our help center here. That way, we can take a closer look at the billing on your account and provide account-specific information (here on the Shopify Community we can only provide generalized info, as we have no account access).

 

I trust that this will help to clarify things, but let me know if there's anything else I can help with!

 

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



Mahendiran
Visitor
1 0 0

will I get my 5k back or not broo?? 

_sakthi2003
Visitor
1 0 1

I had same issue but once I gave permission to auto-pay it only got 20 inr as they mentioned in plans. But even after making payment I can't open my store it was still in the same page  (choosing a plan for subscription)

Om_lokhande
Visitor
2 0 0

So were you just charged 20 rs for 3 months at start of everymonth.??

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @_sakthi2003 

 

Welcome to the Shopify Community - thanks for joining in here.

 

I understand that you also gave permission for the max authorization charge, but were only actually charged the amount outlined on your store plan - great to hear, thanks for getting back to let us know.

 

You also mentioned that you can't open your store after making payment, as it was still on the same page of choosing a plan for subscription. That's an interesting issue - I would like to gather some more information about this so that I can do my best to assist.

 

Are you currently able to access your store admin? If so, are you seeing any errors or warning messages there, which might indicate there's an issue with something on your store? Also, if you navigate to Settings > Plan, does it show that your store is currently on an active plan?

 

Feel free to reply with more information and we can troubleshoot this here. You can also feel free to provide relevant screenshots, however please be mindful that this is a public forum, so take care not to include any sensitive or personal information.

 

You can of course reach our dedicated support team at any time 24/7 via our help center here. Our team would be more than happy to check out your account and help you identify what might be happening here.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



snapzilla
Visitor
1 0 0

will i get the money back? which am adding 5000 pls tell

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @snapzilla 

 

Thanks for joining in here and welcome to the Shopify Community.

 

Are you also wondering about the The 5,000 INR authorization charge when setting up UPI on your Shopify store? As mentioned in my previous replies here on this thread, when signing up for UPI, you will be asked to authorize a maximum charge amount of 5,000 INR, but you will only be charged the amount on your invoice.

 

The 5,000 INR charge you see is an authorization charge, not an actual charge. It just confirms that automatic payments through UPI can be up to 5,000 INR. If you require further explanation for your specific situation, please contact our support team directly through our help center here for personalized assistance regarding your store billing.

 

If you are new to Shopify, then you might find this YouTube tutorial especially helpful. It's a great visual guide that you can follow for setting up your store and getting ready to make your first sale!

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



Rida_zehra
Visitor
1 0 0

Hey Rick! im wondering if shopify will keep my 5000 rupees, or will they return it back? Because this seems to be really risky to just pay 5000 INR even though i was supposed to pay 20 INR. Please do confirm if the money will be returned cuz i was originally charged 20 INR not 5000??

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @Rida_zehra 

 

Welcome to the Shopify Community, and thanks for reaching out for assistance.

 

I believe there may be some confusion here regarding this 5,000 INR charge - I'd be happy to explain. 

 

As you can see from a few of my other replies here in this thread, an authorization charge is required when setting up UPI on your Shopify store. You will be required to authorize a maximum charge amount of 5,000 INR, however this is an authorization charge only and not the actual amount debited from your card - you will only be charged the amount on your invoice.

 

If you are seeing 20 INR as the amount on the Shopify billing invoice, then that is the amount you will be required to pay. If you have any concerns about this or would like to speak to our team to address other questions you have about your billing, then please contact our support team via our help center here and we would be happy to assist.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



yacoub22
Visitor
1 0 0

So, your are not taking 15000 INR. You are just taking 1 INR and refunding the 1 INR instantly. Am i right

Mannn
Visitor
1 0 0

Hey Rick, I am facing the same problem, but I already paid 1rs charge and received a mail that the refund is initiated, kindly guide me what should I do now ? Today morning I tried to pay with another visa debit card in another account but it didn't support the payment. Kindly look into the matter 

Om_lokhande
Visitor
2 0 0

Ig rick don't know about the offers in india, no satisfactory reply from him. Shopify India should look into it.

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @Om_lokhande 

 

Thanks for joining in here.

 

All of the most up to date information about the Shopify plan pricing and any promotional offers currently available will be outlined on our pricing page here. If you look at the top of that page, you should see a banner explaining the current offer.

 

However, the most accurate place to see more information about the plan and billing details specific to your actual store will be in the Settings > Plan and Settings > Billing sections of your own Shopify admin.

 

As mentioned previously in this thread, if you have any questions or concerns regarding this, it would be best to reach out to our support team directly so that we can take a closer look at your account and provide account-specific information. Here on the Shopify Community, we cannot access your account so we can only provide general information.

 

If you have any other questions, feel free to ask me here and I will do my best to help!

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



pinkman_io
Visitor
2 0 3

Hello, i was also facing the same issue. 

 

Firstly the 5000 which shopify was asking will not be debited from your account.

Secondly why shopify asking 5000 is for just setting up the autopay for billing process

example :

If you have used the first 3 months at 20 rupees/month after that if you are continue the plan then based on your plan the money will be debited. 

in this case i have selected basic plan so after three months 1994rupees/month will be automatically debited from account if i had not canceled the plan. and the max amount shopify can automatically debit is 5000 rupees that's why it is asking. 

 

I got my doubt cleared by rick. just explaining in simple way. 

Hope everybody understands.

ROHIT_VIJET
Visitor
2 0 0

Helo bro thank you so much i got my doubt cleared 

But i have 1 more doubt that

You said 1194rs will automaticallyget debitted from my account 

What should i do now if i have 2000rs which i need for other purpose will it gett debited?  How make it manual with no auto pay

pinkman_io
Visitor
2 0 3

hello rick,

i was hoping you could help  me something i have created a store 3 years ago but when i have logged in with the gmail i am enable to see the store i created

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @pinkman_io 

 

Thanks for reaching back out here.

 

Have you ensured that you are using the correct Gmail account associated with the store? Sometimes, people have multiple email accounts and may accidentally log in with the wrong one, so this is a good step to double check.

 

However, we generally only guarantee a store's information and data for up to 2 years, as outlined on our help center here. If there has been no activity on a store for 2 years after it has been cancelled or frozen, it will generally be permanently deleted. After this it will be inaccessible and cannot be re-enabled by either you or our support team - you would need to create a new store if you' like to return to Shopify again.

 

Feel free to contact our support team via our help center and we can take a closer look, however as it has been 3 years it's unlikely that the store still exists. I trust that this will help to clarify the situation, but please let me know if there's anything else I can assist with. Are you considering coming back to Shopify after being away for a while? I'd love to hear more about your plans.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



ShrutikaS
Visitor
1 0 0

Everytime I try to pay with upi/card 20 rupees for 3 months plan, I get 5000 rupees mandate. Even When I tried to accept it once ( Because I knew My account dont have 5k right now ) so just I accepted it yet it got failed. But This is useless. Why we get 5k rupees mandate and not for 20 rupees ?
Please resolve this problem

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 88 146

Hi @ShrutikaS 

 

Welcome to the Shopify Community - thanks for reaching out here.

 

I understand that you are experiencing some problems with the billing on your store. If you have read through the previous information provided in this thread, and you are still having issues then I would suggest contacting our team directly so that we can take a look.


One of our support advisors would be more than happy to check out the billing on your store and we will do our best to clarify what is happening. You can reach our team via the help center here. You will first need to interact with the chat assistant in the bottom right, however it should give you an option to contact the team via live chat if you type that in.

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



SAAAZSELECTION
Shopify Partner
1 0 0

HI its very nice to see all conversation within community

my question

i did domain purchasing and its connected and i set theme also my online store is ready can you tell me after buying plan from shopify my store will be visible to public or after plan i have to do some more steps 

ROHIT_VIJET
Visitor
2 0 0

nah nah it askd you a mandate amount ( money limit ) of 5000 rs but when you continue the transcation you will be charged on 20rs . beleive me i entered the transaction only 20rs got cut from my account