Solved

Shopify Payments Payout On Hold

okayjae
Tourist
3 0 5

A day before my payout I received this message

"Your payouts from Shopify Payments are on hold while we review your account

Contact Support for next steps on this standard review. This hold does not prevent your customers from checking out."
 
I have not received any email I was just asked to update the details on my admin page of which I did. I didn't receive any email, should there be an issue? I need the funds to make purchase to fulfill the orders. its a registered LLC. how long should this take.
 
 
Accepted Solution (1)

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

This is an accepted solution.

Hey there, @okayjae. Thanks for taking the time to reach out to the Shopify Community with your Payout Hold questions. It's good to meet you!

 

Often times, these holds are just standard reviews, so I wanted to share that with you upfront to help ease any potential stress. In some situations, one would receive an email regarding this, but in the situation where you haven't, your next move is to reach out to our Live Support Team for assistance. You can use this link to connect with the team.

 

If you've followed the instructions outlined in your admin and updated your information, then it shouldn't be long before the review is completed and the hold is removed. Keep an eye on your admin and emails for any updates from the team!

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

View solution in original post

Replies 68 (68)

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

This is an accepted solution.

Hey there, @okayjae. Thanks for taking the time to reach out to the Shopify Community with your Payout Hold questions. It's good to meet you!

 

Often times, these holds are just standard reviews, so I wanted to share that with you upfront to help ease any potential stress. In some situations, one would receive an email regarding this, but in the situation where you haven't, your next move is to reach out to our Live Support Team for assistance. You can use this link to connect with the team.

 

If you've followed the instructions outlined in your admin and updated your information, then it shouldn't be long before the review is completed and the hold is removed. Keep an eye on your admin and emails for any updates from the team!

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

okayjae
Tourist
3 0 5

I  woke up to see my website terminated

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hi again, @okayjae. Thanks for follow up with me here.

 

If you've received an email regarding this situation, it's best that you follow up with that email directly with any questions. As we're unable to authenticate users here in the Community, it's best to speak with the folks on the other end of that email directly.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

okayjae
Tourist
3 0 5

if that being the case what's the existence of this platform because its of no use to create a forum where all solution are to be solved through an email.

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hi again, @okayjae. Thanks for following up here.

 

The Shopify Community Forums are a great place to come by anytime you have questions about your store, or are looking to connect with Shopify Staff, developers, and other business owners regarding various topics.

In this specific situation with your store, authentication is required in order for any progress on a resolution to be made. We're unable to authenticate store owners here in the Community, hence the redirection to any emails you've received from our Teams regarding your business. Those emails are an environment where you have already been authenticated, so the support staff on the other end of those emails are best equipped to assist you with your situation, and provide you with more information about your store.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Sèluace
Visitor
2 0 4

I have my shopify payments on hold, i provided all documents needed but theres no response. It seems like theres no solution to this as i havent seen anyone on this thread who got resolved. I have waited for the reply of the said team but theres none contacted the support team also, they are equally not helping in anyway. Why does shopify put its client of dead end. It makes no sense. I have no single chargebacks, not violated any policy nor do i sell contradicted products so why 

 

Max114
Tourist
8 0 1

hello, was your situation resolved? if so, how long did it take? i have same situation.

eduphysic
Tourist
3 0 3

I have the same problem and I haven’t received any email to update or send any documents, I need the money to continue my operations please help me! My emal is edulalito2323@gmail.com

eduphysic
Tourist
3 0 3

I also talked to support but they told me to wait for a review but it been already 24 hours since that.

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hey there, @eduphysic. Thank you for taking the time to follow up on this thread here.

 

If your Payouts are on hold, and you've already gotten in touch with the Support Team, then you've completed all of the steps you need to at this time for our team to review your situation, and assist in a resolution.

 

For now, you will need to allow some time for our Internal Team to review your hold. Once they have, they will follow up with you via email to let you know of any potential next steps. Please keep an eye on your email inbox for any messages that are delivered to you from our team.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

KafiFolk
Tourist
3 0 2

Has your situation been resolved? I am in the same situation now for a week and a half and I cannot run my business because the money is on hod and no one is replying. What did you do? 

 

eduphysic
Tourist
3 0 3
They closed all my stores and my account with a reason that has notting to
do with my store, after I submitted several times the info they asked about
my business. (They’re keeping my money on hold for 120 days now)

I suggest you to change payment processor to stripe or use another platform
as soon as possible.
Maggielee
Shopify Partner
9 1 2

OMG, that's the worst thing I can hear, they closed your stores and won't release your money until 120 days? In other words, in the worst case, they will return your money, you just have to wait until 120 days later?

My Shopify payment is also on hold, i haven't received any email from them yet, and i really worry about they will not give me my money back. 😩

cassidy2
Tourist
12 0 3

Hello how can I change my processor to stripe?

Tuuv
Tourist
10 0 2

Hello did you ever received your payment after waiting 120days ?

Keshawn
Tourist
3 0 2
No I never receives anything ##-
No I never receives anything
-##
Tuuv
Tourist
10 0 2

Omg I’m scared because I have been waiting since last year November in the next two week it will be a 120 days

ThisIsReallySad
Excursionist
35 0 4
Did you ever find out the reason for why they closed your store? I got the
notification of my Payouts on hold, and while they claim it's just to
verify my bank account.. after reading all these shopify horror stories,
I'm not very confident that my account will come off hold anytime soon. 😕
Tuuv
Tourist
10 0 2

They never take mine of hold they just closed it down like a week after that was in November they said I would need to wait 120 days for payout I’m still waiting in the next two weeks it will be a 120 days so I am wondering what gonna happen because I really need my money 

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hey there, @KafiFolk. Thank you for following up on this thread.

 

Have you received any email communications from our team regarding your shop? Do you have any red banners in your store admin asking you to contact support, or submit documentation to the team for review? 

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

KafiFolk
Tourist
3 0 2

Hi Imogen, I have only heard from someone via email who requested me to upload a document. I uploaded what they asked me to and since then I have heard nothing back eventhough I have written to them on that same email chain many times and been in contact with the live assistant team (and spoken to at least 20 different assistants) who all tell me the same thing that I just have to wait for a reply although its now been two weeks since I am not getting payouts but Shopify still keeps taking money from my bank account for the fees for the orders that came in. I really do not know what to do as I have to pay out my suppliers since last week and I am getting nowehere with contacting shopify at all. Its completely silent. Can you help me?

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hey there, @KafiFolk. Thank you for following up with me here.

 

Our Internal Teams work on a queue-based system, and follow up on email thread without first hearing from our Internal Team has the ability to negatively affect your standing in the queue, meaning that you may experience a longer than expected turn-around time from the team. The same goes for reachouts to our Authenticated Support Team - as the Internal Team already has an escalated ticket with them where you had uploaded a document, additional reachouts have the chance to impact your queue placement, and the amount of time it takes to hear back from the team.

 

My recommendation would be to cease following up on the email thread, and to cease additional support reachouts. This will cement your place in the queue, and once the team has had the opportunity to review the document you provided them, they will follow up with you via email.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

cloudnineAL
Tourist
7 0 1

Well this is the most absurd thing I have ever heard. WE JUST WANT TO KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON! No one will answer and when they do answer it is very vague. What is the process to verify bank accounts? Shouldn't this be something that should happen ASAP. 

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9

Hi KafiFolk, has your situation been resolved? My store is now in a similar place, Shopify has put a hold on all our payouts for over a week and a half, they requested business verification info (in an email that looked somewhat spam-like) and there was no notification on my admin about the needed info.

I finally figured out how to submit the info (all they needed was a copy of my drivers license), but after submitting, I keep getting emails that I need to submit the info, so it seems like they don't have it.  It's been a week and a half since we've received a payout, and there seems to be no way to speak on the phone with someone about this.  The chat person has not been able to put me in contact with the "verification team" or help me with my request. 

 

I wondered if you were able to get yours resolved? Its very upsetting to have our money tied up like this, and not have access to it. 

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hi there, @Freeman3. Thanks for taking the time to follow up on this older thread regarding payout holds. It's good to meet you.

 

It sounds like you may have been subjected to a standard review of your Shopify Payments account. Requesting a document to verify some information is a usual step our Internal Team takes here. Our Internal Team does have a larger than expected volume of tickets currently, which may be impacting the speed at which your hold is being resolved.

You mentioned that you've provided a document, but have continued to be requested to do so. Can you provide me with the email address sending you these requests? Do you also have a ticket number in relation to this hold?

 

Please, follow up with me here when you can. I'll keep my eyes peeled for your reply!

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9

Hi Imogen

 

thanks for your reply. we are receiving emails from mailer@shopify.com

asking for us to add documentation (despite providing it).  Not sure why after 10 years of being a shopify customer, this issue has suddenly come up.  Nothing has changed on our end.  Our ticket number for this is 42147151.  Honestly, it feels like a bot is handling this ticket which for something so important feels very tacky - these are payouts for merchandise sold from our store and shopify is holding them for a reason that has not been fully explained.   It seriously makes us consider switching to an alternate provider for our store.  Any help resolving this asap would be appreciated.  thank you.

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hey again, @Freeman3. Thanks for taking the time to follow up with me here.

 

Definitely appreciate you providing me with that ticket number. I was able to get that passed along to some folks internally, so they can ensure that proper processes are being followed while handling your escalation. I recommend keeping an eye on your email inbox for any communications from our team in the not-to-far future regarding things.

Additionally, I wanted to pass along this link. This link includes all of the countries that Shopify Payments is supported in. In addition to that, this page links to lists of accepted documents, and guidelines on those documents, on a country by country basis. As you mentioned that you're waiting for verification of documents you submitted, there may have been an issue with what was submitted to the Internal Team, so I definitely recommend consulting that list to see if you have any additionally qualifying documents that you can submit if your previous document was rejected.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9
Thanks very much for your attention and help on this. One thing we haven't
been able to figure out is why this has happened now after having our
shopify store for 11 years.
Also, the ID they are wanting to verify is my wife's, even though I, Scott
Freeman, am the primary account holder/store owner - was this some sort of
mistake?
Anything that can get done to deposit our payouts into our bank asap would
be much appreciated as this has created a massive disruption and expense
for us.
thank you again.
Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hey again, @Freeman3. Thanks again for following up with me.

 

Just to set some expectations for you, I'm unable to authenticate users here in the Community, so I can't access any accounts, or discuss any account specific information, which includes specific information related to any ongoing, open tickets.

 

You've posed some good questions there; and they're questions that are best handled by our Internal Team. I recommend that you direct those questions to them in a reply once they've reached out to you again regarding your documentation submission. They're the folks best equipped to assist you with getting this hold resolved, and providing you information around your questions. 

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9

Hi Imogen,

Thank you for setting our expectations. Unfortunately, there is no customer service number for us to call, the "chat" specialist we spoke with seems to be an AI bot. After submitting the information requested over 6 days ago, we've received no indication that our information was received, however have gotten numerous emails requesting the information again. Our payouts have been on hold for over two weeks. We can't figure out who to speak with about this or how to clear it up.

 

We have run our brick and mortar clothing store on Shopify for over ten years without issue, now we are having to borrow expensively from our line of credit to cover our payroll and to pay our vendors, because over $15,000 we made in sales is in limbo as our payouts are on "hold" (with no explanation).

 

As soon as we can, we are moving off the Shopify platform and warning all of our friends and business associates to be wary of using Shopify. 

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hey again, @Freeman3. I appreciate you following up here with me again.

 

Currently, our Internal Teams are unable to be reached via phone call, as we do not have an active number that can be used to reach them. Additionally, if you're been engaging in the chat available in our Help Center, then you would have been chatting with our new AI Assistant, if this is the bot that you're referring to.

 

As I'm not privy to the specifics of your ticket or hold (due to authentication limitations) I recommend that you upload another document if you're being requested to provide one. I advise checking out the previous link I provided that can help you understand what sort of documents you can consider providing.

 

If you upload this new document, and continue to have issues, then please use the link I've attached in my above paragraph to access our Help Portal. From there, connect with our AI Chat Assistant, and let it know that you'd like to speak to a human regarding your hold. It will then help you connect with a member of our Authenticated Team so they can check in with our Internal Team on the status of things if you encounter issues with the new document upload.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9

I have spent over 2 hours on Chats with customer service, and they were unable or unwilling to connect me to a member of the internal team. 

 

There has been no indication that our documents were received. I have uploaded them four times. Should I upload them again?

 

This is all very frustrating. It is affecting our ability to perform vital business tasks such as running payroll. We are now onto three weeks without a payout when typically they arrive every two days. It is unacceptable. 

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9

I just spent the last 40 minutes minutes attempting to chat with the support agent. I waited for about 10 minutes, was connected to someone, and then when I typed and submitted my questions, they did not appear in the chat screen. After the Agent's initial introduction, I received no messages. I waited for ten minutes but no reply. I initiated a new chat, waited another 10 minutes for an agent, and again, the questions that I submitted in the chat box did not show up on the screen (though all the questions to the AI did show up).   I attempted a third chat, and got this screen. Still no payouts for going on three weeks and very difficult to get a hold of anyone. Please help.chat bot.png

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hey again, @Freeman3. Thanks for following up.

 

Unfortunately, speaking to members of our Support Team via the Help Portal won't speed up the turn around time on this ticket. These Advisors are not privy to situations being handled by our Internal Teams, so they won't be able to expedite the situation, or provide you with different information than what you've previously been provided.

 

I want to reiterate that I believe it would be a good idea to follow along with the instructions you received regarding the document you need to upload, and any communications you received regarding these documents. If the document you're uploading isn't being accepted, please refer to the list of documents you can find on one of the previous links I provided to determine a solid alternative to provide.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9

I need to speak with someone who can look into my situation, could you please tell me how to reach someone, or who can help me? There were no instructions provided regarding the document other than to upload it, which I've done, over a week ago. The help links you sent do not apply. I have not received any email or confirmation to say our document was received. I have uploaded it five times, and have heard nothing. Please tell me who I can speak with at Shopify. We have been customers of Shopify for over ten years. Please help me expedite our request, we need to receive our payouts for sales that have happened over the last three weeks. We are not able to perform basic business functions and it is very stressful.

 

Shopify is now holding onto nearly $20,000 of our money for sales that already happened.  This is totally unacceptable.

apsinc
Visitor
1 0 1

Likewise, our account payouts have been on hold since October 6th. However, we haven't received any additional information apart from it being a standard review. While I understand that a 1-2 day review is typical, it's challenging for customers to conduct business when their funds are tied up. This situation appears to be absurd.

 

Perhaps this is a strategy to push customers into their Capitol program, but who knows for sure. The bottom line is that they are holding onto a substantial amount of earned money, amounting to tens of thousands of dollars.

Freeman3
Tourist
8 0 9

Hi @apsinc - So sorry to hear you're in a similar situation. Funny, it crossed my mind to that this is a strategy to push customers into their Capitol program. We've "been approved". 

 

We are on day 20 with no payouts, no resolution. 

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hello there, @Freeman3 and @apsinc. I appreciate you following up on this thread.

I'm just checking in to see if there has been any movement on your tickets/hold status. I know it's been a few days since I last had a chance to visit the thread, so I wanted to check in and see how things are going in case I need to follow up internally with folks.

 

Feel free to follow up with me here and let me know how things are going.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Ma-did-i
Tourist
5 0 0

Hi how long was your verification process, I’m currently in the reviews stage no communication until I reached out to shopify…… I’ve been given the run around by the support agents and no one has been able to give me a time frame….

ThisIsReallySad
Excursionist
35 0 4

Sorry to hear that you had to go thru that, were you ever able to get payouts back on? I'm honestly shocked that a company of this size, is so non chalant/take their time about getting people their money.  It's almost like they don't care. Although my account is still active, my payments are on hold while they verify my bank account. But after reading this thread, I think I've read everything I need to... I can't afford to have anyone playing with my money. I'm a small business and need these funds for promotional reasons. I won't be sending any more of my traffic here until this gets resolved, and even then I'm not sure that I will stick around.. cause if they can do this to users who have been with them for years, it tells me that no one is safe... and that getting people's payments turned on is NOT a priority to them. That's scary. I'm not trying to end up in debt, due to them playing with my money. Not cool. Would love to know if you were able to resolve your situation, and if yes how long did it take.

ThisIsReallySad
Excursionist
35 0 4

That's saddening to read that you've been with Shopify for 10 years... and that they're treating you like that. That tells me, it doesn't matter old or new.. any and everyone is subject to getting screwed over in the long run, it's just a matter of WHEN! And  that is scary being a small business owner, knowing you depend on these funds to keep the business alive. Were you able to resolve your situation? You were on 2 weeks since your last payment in the message I read. If it was resolved, how long did it take? Smh. Just when I thought I found a place I liked. Lol. Guess nothing is ever as good as it seems. Good luck, hope you were able to get paid!

ThisIsReallySad
Excursionist
35 0 4

Were you ever able to resolve the situation and get payouts back on? If yes, how long did it take? Reading that you're already on week 2 without payment even after submitting your documents, just further confirms my fears. Looks like coming to shopify wasn't the brightest idea. Although I'm not in your shoes, I have no doubt the same will happen to me as I've read so many people saying the same thing. My account is on hold, but they said it's because I added my bank account and once they verify it should be back on... but I don't trust that answer after reading all these stories.

ThisIsReallySad
Excursionist
35 0 4

This thread is filled with horror story, after horror story... and they all sound the same. Shopify verifies you and allows you to sell, you makes sales and earn money, and instead of paying you.. they put your money on hold, don't even email to tell you that you won't be getting paid, and then leave you in the blind for weeks about what's really going on. I'm glad I took the time to read this, to save myself from being taken advantage of like I see the rest of these people have. This is truly disappointing, as I just recently opened my store here and although I wasn't pleased with the initial setup.. once I got the store live, I was happy with the conversion rate. But what good is a good conversion rate if in the end your money is just going to get put on hold and likely never returned?  Thankfully I still have my Square account. You guys should really rereconsider treating the people that make you money, like that. Most of the people using Shopify are small businesses. The last thing they have time for is someone playing with their money!

Keshawn
Tourist
3 0 2

Hello, I’ve been on holds for my payouts for almost 2 weeks, my business is very legit I got. Proof my of customers receiving their orders & proof of my manufacturer production! I got. my First payout but this one is my biggest that’s really messing up my business daily with customers thinking I scammed them!

Imogen
Shopify Staff
1525 186 274

Hi there, @Keshawn! Thanks for taking the time to follow up on this thread. Apologies for the delayed reply - I've been out of the office for the Holidays back I'm back in office now and catching up with folks on threads.

 

Did you receive any emails from our Support Team regarding your hold? If so, you will want to reply to the email you received in order to get more information regarding your hold, and how to resolve it. If you did not receive an email, you'll want to reach out to our Authenticated Live Team for more information. You'll want to use this link to connect with our Team regarding the hold. They'll be able to discuss any account specific details with you in order to help you get the hold resolved.

Imogen | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

cassidy2
Tourist
12 0 3

Hey have you received any update?

decorecast
Visitor
2 0 2

This is what i just received 

 

Dear Account Owner, 
 
We have reviewed your account and determined that it is in violation of Shopify's Acceptable Use Policy (AUP). As a result, we are no longer able to host your store on the Shopify platform and your account has been closed.
 
The full amount of pending payouts will be held by the Processor, in accordance with the Shopify Payments Terms of Service and the Processor's Terms of Service. Payouts are typically held for 120 days.

If you believe that your account was terminated in error, you can appeal using this form.

Please note that this email address is not monitored. Any responses submitted will not receive a reply.
cassidy2
Tourist
12 0 3

Omg! Im so sorry this happened to you. If you don’t mind me asking what were you selling? Because I have a hair extension business. I haven’t done anything wrong so i have no idea why my payouts are on hold 

Max114
Tourist
8 0 1

hello, was your situation resolved? if so, how long did it take? i have same situation.