Can Shopify payout speed affect your print on demand business?

JAC1
5 0 0

Hello, I'm new to print on demand and was wondering if someone could help me. Right now when I have an order made on my sight Printful takes the money out my bank account immediately to make the product. Shopify then takes several days to deliver my payout to me from the money I actually made. This is fine right now, but once I start getting more orders I realized it would be possible for my bank account to go negative if many orders happened at once and Printful charged me but Shopify took days to give me my payout. I was wondering if there was any way to avoid this or any solutions.

Replies 4 (4)

Moira
Shopify Staff
2040 223 323

Hey, @JAC1!

This is Moira from the Social Care team at Shopify. Thanks for posting, and a very warm welcome to the Community.

Running a print-on-demand store is a fantastic business venture! This means you don’t need to buy or store any inventory, keeping your overhead costs nice and low. If one of your ideas pans out and you start to generate a meaningful number of sales, you can always graduate from using a print-on-demand site to holding your own inventory or continue to use these services while finding new ways to grow your audience. The choice is yours! I highly suggest checking out this course for a more in-depth explanation of this business model and step-by-step instructions on setting up a print-on-demand empire.

Shopify Payments Payouts

The length of your pay period depends on the country where your store is based, I'm afraid payouts can not be sped up. Typically, payouts will arrive in your bank account within 4 business days. The funds might not appear in your bank account right after they're sent as banks typically take between 24-72 hours to process deposits to your bank account. More information on payouts can be found here.