Site won't load, although shopify backend is working

1 0 1

Hello! A customer reached out and mentioned she can not access my site. I tried as well and I am seeing the same thing as well. I logged on to shopify and checked out to see if their was any errors or outages but everything seems to be working correctly. I cleared cache but the tools provided to troubleshoot is not working. Any ideas?


Here is the error message:


Hmm. We’re having trouble finding that site.

We can’t connect to the server at Did you mean to go to

If you entered the right address, you can:

Try again later
Check your network connection
Check that Firefox has permission to access the web (you might be connected but behind a firewall)

Reply 1 (1)

Shopify Staff
2218 450 389

Hey @jlevy130.
Thanks for reaching out. 
I appreciate the context that you have provided us as that is very helpful! Would you happen to let us know if this is a third-party domain or if you purchased this domain directly off of the Shopify platform? 
We do have a great step-by-step guide that goes over the DNS changes required to have a third-party domain pointed towards your Shopify store available here
You may be able to get your online store available once again by changing your primary domain to your URL. You can change the primary domain by navigating to Settings > Domains and select the domain you would like to make the primary domain
Looking forward to your response. 

Ollie | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog