Re: Issues With Shopify Analytics

Why is my Shopify analytics not working correctly?

FionaDillon
Excursionist
18 0 9

Hi there, 

 

Since 31st October, Shopify analytics has completely stopped working. 

 

The numbers are not adding up and I'm not sure what is happening - is anyone else seeing something similar with their stores? 

 

Sessions / adds to cart / conversions - not tracking. 

Revenue/orders - showing correctly.

 

Thanks, 

Fiona 

Replies 23 (23)

DylanKelleher
Visitor
1 0 2

same problem

FionaDillon
Excursionist
18 0 9

Hi Dylan, 

Are you having the issue since 31st October too? 

Have you been in touch with Shopify Support? 

Any ideas what might be causing it?

Thanks, 

Fiona

Victoria
Shopify Staff
2274 154 262

Hi, all!

Thank you for getting in touch and sharing your questions to the Shopify Community.

 

I would like to advise that our development team is currently looking into reports of potential analytics discrepancies since October 31st. This is impacting some merchants and is primarily affecting sessions over time and conversion rate. Once we receive communication from our developers, I will share an update in this thread.

 

We appreciate your patience and understanding as we work to have this resolved.

 

Thanks!

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Victoria
Shopify Staff
2274 154 262

Hi, again!

Looping back to this thread to share that our developers have resolved the analytics discrepancies issue dated back to October 31st.

 

If you are still experiencing issues with your analytics, please connect with our support team through the Shopify Help Center.

 

Thanks!

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

FionaDillon
Excursionist
18 0 9

Hi Victoria, 

Thanks for coming back. We're still seeing discrepancies, will this fix show immediately or will it take some time? 

 

Thanks, 

Fiona

Nucosmetic
Tourist
3 0 1

still same problem on my end as well

Victoria
Shopify Staff
2274 154 262

Hi, @FionaDillon and @Nucosmetic.

 

I'm sorry to hear you're still seeing discrepancies on your end. The issue mentioned above should be resolved on your end. I recommend creating a support request through the Shopify Help Center, so our team can review and troubleshoot as needed. 

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Nucosmetic
Tourist
3 0 1

I already had two tickets regarding this issue, but no solution was found. I have been told there is an issue on shopify’s end. 

Victoria
Shopify Staff
2274 154 262

Hi again, @Nucosmetic.

 

Are you able to advise what Support has suggested? Have you tried following up on your existing tickets you mentioned? 

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Nick-Gu
Visitor
2 0 2

👋Hi @Victoria,

 

Having the same issue (started Oct 31, 2023). I can share what Support Agent replied to me:

"So that being said, some orders may not have conversion details that your store analytics can report. For example, in [order]: we do not see any information in the Conversion summary. This would indicate that the order wouldn't show up in the Conversion reporting because the buyer had refused cookie tracking or used a privacy setting or app." 

—  Should I treat this as if 95% of visitors suddenly started using privacy apps on Nov 1, 2023?

...

"So this has been something brought to our developers already that this should be a simple calculation. However when customers are using privacy apps or do not opt into tracking then we are seeing that the conversion rate will show lower than it should be since it technically couldn't be tracked."

...
"What I can do is add feedback on your behalf to our developers about these discrepancies that we are seeing. I know they are looking into resolving this already, but the more feedback we provide the better!"

...

 

Basically, nothing happened since our chat — we still have wrong data on the Sessions, Conversion Funnel (Added to cart > Reached checkout > Sessions converted) and Conversion Rate itself. E.g. today we had 8 conversions and 0% conversion rate in the Shopify Analytics dashboard. Sessions also show wrong numbers. But everything worked correctly prior Nov 1, 2023. 

 

Once I treated Shopify Analytics as a last source of truth for the shop performance overview. Now I can't believe those numbers. That's frustrating. 

 

Next, I think we just wait until a solution comes up (depending on how many users are impacted). But even if, I wouldn't expect that it will cover historical data 🙁

NG
Victoria
Shopify Staff
2274 154 262

Thanks for sharing this information, @Nick-Gu.

 

Since you have already created a support ticket, I recommend replying to it directly for further clarification. Through our community forum, we do not have visibility into your admin, analytics or account-specific sections/queries. Our internal team is in the best position to continue investigating this. 

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

FionaDillon
Excursionist
18 0 9

Hi Victoria, @upport have said it is resolved and have triggered a resync but it still isn't working. They have said the technical support team would be looking at this but they have not responded to me since Monday and I have no updates. I have 3 open tickets on this now. 

 

Very frustrating as this was impacting GA4 and Google Ads as we were using the Shopify integration and we're coming into the busiest time of the year now and can't trust any of the data. 

 

We would really appreciate any help you can give. 

 

Thanks, 

Fiona 

Victoria
Shopify Staff
2274 154 262

Thanks for following up, @FionaDillon.

 

It sounds like our Support team has escalated your issue to our Technical Support Team. Our escalated teams communicate solely via email and are likely still investigating the issue. I can definitely understand the impact this has on your business but rest assured, you're in the right hands with receiving support. If you haven't received a reply, I encourage you to reach out via your existing tickets to connect with the appropriate team.  

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

FionaDillon
Excursionist
18 0 9

Hi Victoria,

 

Unfortunately, there is still no resolution nearly 3 weeks later. Has anyone else been able to resolve this?

 

Thanks, 

Fiona 

Victoria
Shopify Staff
2274 154 262

Thanks for advising, @FionaDillon.

 

Could you ensure that you've checked your email inbox for any correspondence from our team?  

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

fotobydan
Tourist
14 0 3

I am seeing this issue.  i've been in contact with support a couple of times, only to be told that they are aware of the issue and will resolve it asap.

 

I'm not that impressed to be honest.

 

LetsGetDigital
Shopify Partner
46 0 51

I've lost all faith in Shopify analytics - it's absolute rubbish. You simply can't trust any of the 'data' at all!

 

Screenshot 2024-02-22 at 10.23.05.png

Let's Get Digital (dot net)
MrWentzel
Tourist
5 0 3

If you ever find a solution please let us know. I am facing the same problem.

LetsGetDigital
Shopify Partner
46 0 51

Notice how Shopify Staff avoid the issue like the plague, but Shay is all over Mindy2k's post below asking for evidence - yet I provided a clear undeniable screenshot in my post and its ignored! I don't know if Shopify staff are measured by number of responses to posts - so cherry-pick the easy ones? You might as well be shouting to the sky as posting on here. 😞 

Let's Get Digital (dot net)
Ollie
Shopify Staff
2497 456 416

Hey @LetsGetDigital.

 

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. 

 

If you are experiencing issues with your Shopify Analytics, we will need to take a further look into your online store set up to advise next steps. Since we are unable to authenticate over the Community forums due to sensitive information that needs to be shared, we are unable to view the specifics. 

 

With that being said, you can get in direct contact with our live support by navigating to our Help Center. Once you arrive on the Help Center, you will need to make the virtual assistant aware that you would like to Speak with support and you will be connected with a Support Advisor. 

 

Let us know if you have any questions.

Ollie | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Mindy2k
Shopify Partner
2 0 0

It looks like this is still a known issue not resolved. So infuriating. I moved my client off a previous system where it worked to this and a number of things now don't work. 

Shay
Shopify Staff
3009 463 618

Hey @Mindy2k can you share some direct examples of the issues you are seeing in your analytics and when you first noticed this happening? If you have any open ticket numbers regarding this issue please also feel free to share those. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Wesley9
Excursionist
62 1 5

I have noticed this issue already for months.

 

The hardest part is shopify is sending incorrect data to Meta and Google, i dont know if my ads are doing well.

 

It a shame that they dont communicate about this.